Why does TextMaker need to access my contacts to work?

Post Reply
geedc
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2021 10:00 pm

Why does TextMaker need to access my contacts to work?

Post by geedc »

I'm very wary of what apps are allowed to access my contact list.
Why does TextMaker need to access my contact list to work?
martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2992
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Why does TextMaker need to access my contacts to work?

Post by martin-k »

That's a misnomer in Android. What we really need is access to your account, so that we can log you in to Google Drive and send documents by e-mail.

https://www.reddit.com/r/androiddev/com ... _contacts/
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH
geedc
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2021 10:00 pm

Re: Why does TextMaker need to access my contacts to work?

Post by geedc »

OK. That makes more sense. You can appreciate that every app wants access to everything on your phone/tablet. I have some sensitive stuff on both and refuse to put an app in either without understanding what it wants to access.
typhooteaman
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2019 3:45 pm

Re: Why does TextMaker need to access my contacts to work?

Post by typhooteaman »

I gave the app access to my contacts as first requested after installing, but when I try to access my Google drive, it still says this app is blocked. I am now running Android 12 on my tablet, could that be the reason and the app needs updating to work with drive? The blocked error occurs on both the standard and beta versions.
SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2092
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Why does TextMaker need to access my contacts to work?

Post by SuperTech »

That's actually a different problem and not related to app permissions. I have forwarded the details to our developer team for further testing of this issue. Thanks for reporting.
Post Reply

Return to “TextMaker 2021 for Android”