Screen display totally messed up

Post Reply
JohnWasilewski
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:06 am

Screen display totally messed up

Post by JohnWasilewski » Sun Sep 13, 2020 10:54 pm

TextMaker Professional 2021 (rev S1020.0909) 64bit
I first reported this fault more than THREE MONTHS ago.
See https://forum.softmaker.com/viewtopic.php?f=375&t=20076

Here's what it was doing then, (from my 6th June report):
Docmt totally messed up (report 3 months ago).png

And here what it is STILL doing to me:
Docmt totally messed up (STILL happening).png
Now, after several Betas and now even three post-release versions, this bug is still not corrected.
Come on, SoftMaker, this isn't good enough. There are a lot of us out here depending on the quality of your work for a great deal of our own work.
Your developers just MUST get all these bugs out for us. I know how hard software development is but your customers have supported you and trusted you. I think TM2121 is brilliant program but it is still not finished, and its faults are interfering with my work. How can I even write my reports, et alone send them to clients, when they look like this?

I am desperate for you to finish this product, which I have committed my business to relying on over the years, and I still want to help you, but it now starting to really upset me.

I will send you, in-confidence, the document snapshotted above.
---
John

JohnWasilewski
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:06 am

Re: Screen display totally messed up

Post by JohnWasilewski » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:13 pm

Further information:
When I was writing the email to send you the file, the display corrected.
Next time, I'll experiment a bit, with 'F9' etc., and I'll tell you what happens.
I hope others experiencing the same problem will also help you cure it.
---
John

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 928
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Screen display totally messed up

Post by SuperTech » Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:50 am

Thanks for sending all the files. Please update your SoftMaker Office 2021 as the tmlog you sent is showing that your TextMaker version is 1018. Please update and check this problem again.

JohnWasilewski
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 1:06 am

Re: Screen display totally messed up

Post by JohnWasilewski » Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:18 pm

You're right. I've just looked at my tmlog.txt file and, just as you sau, it says

Code: Select all

SoftMaker TextMaker System Information
Revision: 1018
---
Linux distribution detection results: [3] ; "Zorin OS 15.3" ; "15"
Linux kernel info: Linux LenovoP50s 5.4.0-45-generic #49~18.04.2-Ubuntu SMP Wed Aug 26 16:29:02 UTC 2020 x86_64
List of found distribution file names and their content:
>>> File /etc/lsb-release <<<
DISTRIB_ID=Zorin
DISTRIB_RELEASE=15
DISTRIB_CODENAME=bionic
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Zorin OS 15.3"
>>> File /etc. . . ...[more]
But W H Y does it say that ????
Because it's WRONG.

I have updated to 1020. I did so immediately that you released it.

Have I sent you the wrong tmlog.txt? The tmlog.txt file I sent was
/home/john/SoftMaker/tmlog.txt Tue 08 Sep 2020 07:42:46 BST
I can't find any others.

My ACTUAL version, Copied from Help>About, is:

Code: Select all

TextMaker Professional 2021 (rev S1020.0909) 64bit


I've also just saved a sminfo.txt file, and it reads:

Code: Select all

SoftMaker TextMaker System Information
Revision: 1020
---
Linux distribution detection results: [3] ; "Zorin OS 15.3" ; "15"
Linux kernel info: Linux LenovoP50s 5.4.0-47-generic #51~18.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Sat Sep 5 14:35:50 UTC 2020 x86_64
List of found distribution file names and their content:
>>> File /etc/lsb-release <<<
DISTRIB_ID=Zorin
DISTRIB_RELEASE=15
DISTRIB_CODENAME=bionic
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Zorin OS 15.3"
>>> File /etc/os-release <<<
NAME="Zorin OS"
VERSION="15.3"
ID=zorin
ID_LIKE=ubuntu
PRETTY_NAME="Zorin OS 15.3"
VERSION_ID="15"
HOME_URL="https://www.zorinos.com"
SUPPORT_URL="https://www.zorinos.com/help"
BUG_REPORT_URL="https://bugs.launchpad.net/zorin-os"
PRIVACY_POLICY_URL="https://www.zorinos.com/legal/privacy"
VERSION_CODENAME=bionic
UBUNTU_CODENAME=bionic . . . ...
[more]
Do you still need me to re-install SMO?
Why has my tmlog.txt file not been updated?
Is this enough for you to resume investigation my bug report?

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 928
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Screen display totally messed up

Post by SuperTech » Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:54 pm

No, there is no need to reinstall SoftMaker Office 2021 for now. I have forwarded all the details to our development team.

Post Reply

Return to “TextMaker 2021 for Linux”