Dropdown list from another workbook

Post Reply
User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Dropdown list from another workbook

Post by Princy557 » Mon Sep 14, 2020 12:21 am

Hi,
Using Input validation ...
is it possible to create a drop-down list on a worksheet in workbook A using information from workbook B?
I've been trying but I can't manage it using the standard procedure I would in the same workbook.
Regards
Regards

Princy557

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1428
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Dropdown list from another workbook

Post by SuperTech » Mon Sep 14, 2020 12:46 pm

Currently, adding Input validation from external workbook is not possible in PlanMaker.

User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Dropdown list from another workbook

Post by Princy557 » Mon Sep 14, 2020 1:10 pm

Thanks for the reply.
Do you know if it something on the development list for future?

I have a supplier list which is common to three workbooks , so I assume I will have to 'update' three lists on three workbooks every-time there is a new supplier added? Unless there is a way that I can do it another way???
Regards

Princy557

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1428
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Dropdown list from another workbook

Post by SuperTech » Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:32 pm

I have forwarded this as a feature request to our development team.

Meanwhile, you can paste this range from the source workbook to the other two workbooks as reference.

To do so, copy that range from the source workbook, right-click in the destination range > Paste special > Click on Paste reference button. This will paste the reference so that whenever you will update this data in the source workbook, the other two workbooks will be updated also.

On this referenced range you can build drop-down so the dropdown will also be updated. :)

User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Dropdown list from another workbook

Post by Princy557 » Mon Sep 14, 2020 4:37 pm

Hi
Well thanks for that, in some way your suggested method may be easier than actually having the ability to reference a different workbook. I will give it a try shortly and see how it goes.
Regards
Regards

Princy557

Post Reply

Return to “PlanMaker 2021 for Windows”