Corrupted text when opening multiple tabs

Post Reply
SoulRipper
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 12:00 pm

Corrupted text when opening multiple tabs

Post by SoulRipper » Sat Feb 06, 2021 12:20 pm

Hello,

I'm thinking about replacing my current Office suite with SoftMaker, but I'm facing an annoying bug.

In TextMaker, when I open documents one by one, everything is fine. When I open two or more documents and switch back to the first tab, I get scrambled text.

I'm still using Windows 7 X64.

Please see attached screenshots.

Best regards.

Image
Image

Edit: not sure it can help diagnose the issue, but build 1020 works fine. Builds 1024, 1026, 1028 and 1030 have this problem.

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2880
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Corrupted text when opening multiple tabs

Post by martin-k » Mon Feb 08, 2021 2:20 pm

Can you check what printer driver is active in TextMaker? (see File | Print). You should not use the driver "Generic / Text only".
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

SoulRipper
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 12:00 pm

Re: Corrupted text when opening multiple tabs

Post by SoulRipper » Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:37 pm

Thanks for your reply.

I have no printer because I only need to create electronic (PDF) documents, so the print menu is grayed out.

Image

After more tests I can also confirm revision 1020 is fine. Only newer revisions have this behavior.

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2880
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Corrupted text when opening multiple tabs

Post by martin-k » Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:49 pm

You MUST have a printer driver installed in SoftMaker Office to work. It needs it to format the document. I don't know how you managed to not have a printer driver, but this is not a supported configuration. That's where your problem is.

This has not changed from 1020 to 1030.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

SoulRipper
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2021 12:00 pm

Re: Corrupted text when opening multiple tabs

Post by SoulRipper » Tue Feb 09, 2021 3:18 pm

I understand the principle, but why does it only happen when working in multi tab mode? Everything is normal when I edit one document at time.

I switched between build 1020 & 1026, 1028 & 1030 many times during my trial and I can tell you build 1020 never failed, so there must be something.
Here is the proof:

Revision 1020: https://streamable.com/37kftx
Revision 1030: https://streamable.com/2ca3ik

This is frustrating, because less and less people use printers or paper documents and most word processing softwares don't rely on an installed printer to create documents.

Anyway, thank you for your efforts.

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1415
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Corrupted text when opening multiple tabs

Post by SuperTech » Sun Feb 14, 2021 5:10 pm

You can install any virtual printer also to make it work. For example one bundled with FreePDF : https://www.getfreepdf.com/en/download

Links of screen recording are not working. Word processors require printer driver (maybe virtual only).

imasuridondai
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2021 8:34 pm

Re: Corrupted text when opening multiple tabs

Post by imasuridondai » Tue Apr 27, 2021 8:46 pm

I have exactly the same bug with TextMaker 2018.
I'm also using Windows 7 x64 and have no printer driver installed.
Clipboard-1.png
Clipboard-2.png
I never needed a printer driver before, as I use TextMaker 2018 since 2019 and this bug appeared relatively recently, after I updated the program some time ago.

Post Reply

Return to “TextMaker 2021 for Windows”