Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post here those questions, bug reports and suggestions for SoftMaker Office 2018 for Mac that do not fit in any of the application-specific subforums.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
AST
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:33 am

Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post by AST » Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:36 am

I usually work with two monitors. The second monitor has a resolution that is different (lower) from my laptop. If I move a window to my second monitor, all the toolbars or ribbons disappear and there is only a small windowbar left. The text becomes very large, and the lower window bar with the indications of Section 1, Page 1 etc. is enlarged. Only part of the window is visible. Most disappears on the left edge of the screen. A program dialog window has the same behaviour, and I can't use it for most of the options. I've tried it with several interfaces sizes and with a scaled (lower) resolution of the second monitor, but it's always the same behavior. I wanted to try it by starting Textmaker of Planmaker on the second monitor and move a window to my laptop, to see whether windows would then behave normally, but the program always chooses the laptop as its start monitor.
I searched the forum on this, but couldn't find an entry that reports the same.
I'm using Office 2018 (rev 960), on a MacBook Pro 15 inch, MacOS 10.14.4. The second monitor is 18.5 inch, running with a resolution of 1366 x 768.

Any idea what might cause this? Any fix that may be around?

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2870
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post by martin-k » Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:38 am

Can you provide a screenshot?
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

AST
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:33 am

Re: Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post by AST » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:08 pm

Two screenshots. One with only an (empty) document open, and one with the preferences window called up. One thing that struck me was that when the preferences window was called with the document on the second monitor as shown, the initial window was normal and changed to this blown-up size after one or two seconds.
Screen Shot 2019-04-12 at 9.04.17 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-04-12 at 9.03.18 PM.png

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8123
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post by sven-l » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:02 pm

I couldn't reproduce that issue here. Please attach your sminfo.txt (logfile). You can create it via "?"/About. Thank you!
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

AST
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:33 am

Re: Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post by AST » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:08 pm

Please find it attached.
Attachments
sminfo.txt
(102.27 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

yarilko
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:00 am

Re: Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post by yarilko » Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:13 am

sven-l wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:02 pm
I couldn't reproduce that issue here. Please attach your sminfo.txt (logfile). You can create it via "?"/About. Thank you!
Hi! I have exactly the same problem with the office Professional 2018. It is the latest version, but I purchased it recently, so cannot say if the problem existed in previous versions. On my ACER B286 HK monitor, the windows from all three office apps are completely distorted. The same happens when I connect an external beemer for slideshow. Hence, I was forced to export slides as PDF and do the presentations like that.

Can I anyhow help you reproduce?

My technical details:
MAC Mojave 10.14.4 (18E226)
Resolution: Default for display
Rotation: Standard
Mirror: off

Attaching systeminfo which I managed to generate while the window was on the second monitor (the Generate button was not visible, but TAB+ENTER did the job).
Attachments
sminfo.txt
(102.02 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8123
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post by sven-l » Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:30 pm

Thank you! I will report that issue to the developers.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

miguel-c
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:02 pm

Re: Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post by miguel-c » Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:34 pm

Hi, have you tried updating to version 962.0418 to see if the issue is still there?

yarilko
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:00 am

Re: Window on second monitor is unworkable

Post by yarilko » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:32 pm

miguel-c wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:34 pm
Hi, have you tried updating to version 962.0418 to see if the issue is still there?
Hi! I have this version installed. Seems, it works flawlessly!
Dear Softmaker team, thanks a lot for quick fixing!

Post Reply

Return to “SoftMaker Office 2018 for Mac (General)”