Can't print

Post here those questions, bug reports and suggestions for SoftMaker Office 2021 for Linux that do not fit in any of the application-specific subforums.
diaspora

Can't print

Post by diaspora »

New user here. I'm unable to print in either TextMaker or PlanMaker; meanwhile I can print the same files using LibreOffice. Other applications (Kate, Okular) also work with my printer.

I've tried reinstalling SMO21, and purging and installing again, but with no joy.

Kubuntu 22.04.02, Xerox WorkCentre 3025. Grateful for any advice.
neildorf

Re: Can't print

Post by neildorf »

I'm not an expert, but do you have CUPS installed? If not, I would think that this would be a first step.

I found these articles:

https://ubuntu.com/server/docs/service-cups

https://www.kubuntuforums.net/forum/gen ... on-kubuntu

or using SNAP:
https://snapcraft.io/install/cups/kubuntu
diaspora

Post by diaspora »

Thanks for responding. Yes, CUPS is installed, as is the proprietary Xerox driver. There's no problem printing from other apps, it's just SM Office that won't print.

To give a little more detail: if I try to print from TextMaker, my printer shows up in the dialogue, selecting "Print" sends it to the print queue, where it shows up as Status: On hold, Name: (stdin), Pages: (0). Nothing else in the other columns. If I click on the job in the print queue and then "Resume", it disappears from the print queue, without the document actually being printed.
neildorf

Post by neildorf »

When, in TM you click the [print] icon, is your printer name listed [CUPS] after it? In the Properties dialog box, do you have selected PDF or Postscript?

You might try toggling from one to the other to see what happens.
neildorf

Post by neildorf »

Here's another situation to consider. You might have a paper mismatch. How a specific printer manufacturer would handle this may differ.