Scalable GUI for GNOME?

General questions and answers about FreeOffice 2021 for Linux. Don't post application-specific questions here, but in the appropriate subforum.
grune

Scalable GUI for GNOME?

Post by grune »

I am new to FreeOffice, and liking it thus far, except for the GUI.

FO seems to be complied in QT. On a GNOME o/s like Ubuntu, FO GUI is very small.

Would anybody know how to scale (increase size) the FO GUI for the GNOME o/s?
grune

Re: Scalable GUI for GNOME?

Post by grune »

I found a partial solution, so excuse the question on grounds I am new.
The approach is to go through the FO menus; tools, options,,,
I cannot remember the entire sequence, because...

I found my way eventually to a menu button that enabled a larger UI.
I clicked the button, and the UI is indeed larger.
But I did not click the largest UI. I need the largest UI.

Now I have a new problem.
Everything in FO menus works, EXCEPT the Tools/Options menu.
When Tools/Options is chosen, the FO freezes.
I must use xkill to kill FO, then open FO again.
SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team

Post by SuperTech »

Thanks for reporting the problem. Please share a screenshot or screen recording (preferably) of the problem and sminfo.txt file which you can generate by clicking on '?' > About > Write system information.
grune

Post by grune »

Greetings and thanks for taking notice.

Your suggestion to record the screen proved to be helpful in a very unexpected way. My Ubuntu 22.04 desktop is configured to use both ports of the nvidia card: 1 connects to 4k monitor; 1 connects to an hdmi-av converter, which then connects to the stereo. This makes the o/s think I have 2 monitors, which I cannot over-ride. If I screenshot, the pic shows 2 monitors.