Multiline variable (string) - possible?

Post Reply
burque505
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 4:31 pm

Multiline variable (string) - possible?

Post by burque505 »

Is it possible to create a variable as a multiline string in TextMaker?
If so, how?
Thanks
SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2951
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Multiline variable (string) - possible?

Post by SuperTech »

Yes, you can do it by using our SmartText feature. To use it, please click on ribbon command Insert | Group Text | SmartText. There you can define any length string/multiline/paragraph etc.

For complete details, please check our user manual for SmartText.
burque505
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 4:31 pm

Re: Multiline variable (string) - possible?

Post by burque505 »

Thank you for responding. Perhaps I was not clear about what I would like to achieve. I would like to store a multi-line string in a variable so it can be programmatically manipulated. Smart Text entries, as far as I can tell (and perhaps I'm wrong), are not variables that I could insert programmatically, but rather 'Textbausteine', hotstrings, snippets, or any other name by which text expansion is commonly known.
SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2951
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Multiline variable (string) - possible?

Post by SuperTech »

For programming, you will have to use BasicMaker to write any code for TextMaker.

In BasicMaker to use a variable with multiple lines, define it as a string and for next line use function chr(10) with concatenation.

For example:

Code: Select all

Dim MultipleLines As String
    MultipleLines = "Hello" & Chr(10) & "This code is written in BasicMaker." & Chr(10) & "Thanks"
For complete details, please refer to our BasicMaker User manual here.
Post Reply

Return to “TextMaker 2021 for Windows”