Aligning objects

mangodurian

Aligning objects

Post by mangodurian »

How can I automatically align an object to the right margin of a page?

I have a document full of what I believe are called "objects" (they are basically text boxes - when I double click on them I get the "object properties" box pop up - sorry I'm a newbie with this).. I'd like to select an object and make sure it is right aligned properly (not the text within it, but the object itself)..

Even better if I could somehow select ALL objects in the document and right align them all in one or 2 clicks.. is that possible?

thanks for help..
Jossi
SoftMaker Volunteers
SoftMaker Volunteers

Re: Aligning objects

Post by Jossi »

In one go, this is not possible for all objects in the document, but for all objects on a page.
1. Invoke View > Object mode.
2. Place one object with the mouse at the right margin.
2. Select all objects with Ctrl+A or with the mouse.
3. Invoke Object > Align or distribute > Align right.
All objects will be aligned with the one furthest to the right.
mangodurian

Post by mangodurian »

OK.. I just tried this and am confused by the results I'm getting.

Firstly, when I select an object and then press ctrl-a all the objects in the document are selected, - not just the one's on the current page (as I think you are saying).. that's what I was hoping I would happen though.

but when I then go to Object > Align or distribute > Align right

all the objects disappear from the document leaving a space where they used to be.. then after a few minutes, the "filler" spaces disappear, and all the objects are gone/vanished from the doc.. a control z get's them back again..

even weirder is that the "word count" for the doc remains the same after the objects (which contain text) have disappeared...

i'm using TextMaker Professional 2021 (rev S1022.1108) 64bit on windows 10..

thanks.
Jossi
SoftMaker Volunteers
SoftMaker Volunteers

Post by Jossi »