how do I update my table up contents?

Questions and answers about FreeOffice TextMaker 2018 for Linux
Todd
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:05 am

how do I update my table up contents?

Post by Todd » Tue Feb 02, 2021 11:51 pm

Hi All

How do I update my table up contents that I created in Libre Office (odt)?

Many thanks,
-T

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1416
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by SuperTech » Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:26 pm

You can open ODT files in TextMaker and save changes without any problem.

Todd
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:05 am

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by Todd » Tue Feb 09, 2021 8:10 pm

SuperTech wrote:
Tue Feb 09, 2021 7:26 pm
You can open ODT files in TextMaker and save changes without any problem.
Hi Super,

That was not the question, but thank you for trying anyway.

If I open an odt with a table of contents and add a bunch of content that throws the table of contents' indexes off, I need to know how to update the table of contents. In LibreOffice, the procedure is to right click inside the table of contents, and left click on "Update index". I need to know how to do this is TextMaker.

-T

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1416
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by SuperTech » Wed Feb 10, 2021 11:56 am

It's exactly the same in TextMaker also. Right click in Table of content and then click on update table of content.

Todd
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:05 am

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by Todd » Thu Feb 11, 2021 7:14 pm

SuperTech wrote:
Wed Feb 10, 2021 11:56 am
It's exactly the same in TextMaker also. Right click in Table of content and then click on update table of content.
Sorry, I am not seeing it
https://ibb.co/5xqZhQk

Additional info: I can <ctrl><left click> and it takes me to the place

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1416
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by SuperTech » Fri Feb 12, 2021 2:15 pm

Thanks for sharing the screenshot. Please click on ribbon command Reference | Table of content group | Update. This will update your Table of content.

Todd
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:05 am

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by Todd » Fri Feb 12, 2021 11:41 pm

SuperTech wrote:
Fri Feb 12, 2021 2:15 pm
Thanks for sharing the screenshot. Please click on ribbon command Reference | Table of content group | Update. This will update your Table of content.
1) Would you report to the developers the missing update from the right click context menu?

2) I am not find an "Update" option

https://ibb.co/ngVRy2w

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1416
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by SuperTech » Sat Feb 13, 2021 5:11 pm

As you are using Menu user interface, to update table of content, please click on menu Tool > Generate table of contents... This will update your table of content.

Todd
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:05 am

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by Todd » Sat Feb 13, 2021 9:09 pm

SuperTech wrote:
Sat Feb 13, 2021 5:11 pm
As you are using Menu user interface, to update table of content, please click on menu Tool > Generate table of contents... This will update your table of content.
Uhhhhh. I think it is time for this one to go to the developers too:

https://ibb.co/m8xTS8Q

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1416
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by SuperTech » Sun Feb 14, 2021 3:59 pm

Thanks for trying this step. Please share the associated file of TextMaker in which you are getting this problem so that we can do further investigation for resolution.

If you want to send it to us privately, please e-mail us at the forum[at]softmaker.de

Please also include the forum URL of this topic so that we can trace your e-mail.
viewtopic.php?f=299&t=20901

Todd
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:05 am

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by Todd » Sun Feb 14, 2021 11:33 pm

SuperTech wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2021 3:59 pm
Thanks for trying this step. Please share the associated file of TextMaker in which you are getting this problem so that we can do further investigation for resolution.

If you want to send it to us privately, please e-mail us at the forum[at]softmaker.de

Please also include the forum URL of this topic so that we can trace your e-mail.
viewtopic.php?f=299&t=20901
The file is full of private information, so I will have to create a new file. Give me a few days.

Thank you for all the help on this!

Todd
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:05 am

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by Todd » Tue Feb 16, 2021 7:28 am

Todd wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2021 11:33 pm
The file is full of private information, so I will have to create a new file. Give me a few days.
I just eMailed you guys a simple generic ODT created on LibreOffice 7.1 with the issue.

let me know if it does not arrive. Oops I forgot the attachment. I will eMail again!

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1416
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by SuperTech » Tue Feb 16, 2021 6:59 pm

Please also share your sminfo file which you can generate by clicking on '?' > About > Write system information. Are you using FreeOffice 2018 or SoftMaker Office 2018?

Todd
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:05 am

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by Todd » Tue Feb 16, 2021 10:50 pm

SuperTech wrote:
Tue Feb 16, 2021 6:59 pm
Please also share your sminfo file which you can generate by clicking on '?' > About > Write system information. Are you using FreeOffice 2018 or SoftMaker Office 2018?
I am specifically using
softmaker-freeoffice-2018-982.x86_64.rpm

Running on
Fedora 33.

The ODT was created by
LibreOffice-7.1.0-Linux_x86-64_rpm.tar.gz

I included revisions in the eMail as well.

SMInfo.txt is pretty long, so just eMail it to you

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 1416
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: how do I update my table up contents?

Post by SuperTech » Wed Feb 17, 2021 4:57 pm

Thanks for sharing the sminfo. I was able to reproduce it and forwarded the details to our development team.

Post Reply

Return to “FreeOffice TextMaker 2018 for Linux”