Yet Another Menu Question [FIXED]

Post here those questions, bug reports and suggestions for SoftMaker Office 2018 for Linux that do not fit in any of the application-specific subforums.
Post Reply
cpcnw
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:52 am

Yet Another Menu Question [FIXED]

Post by cpcnw » Sat Oct 26, 2019 5:32 pm

Hi

Is it possible under linux to influence /change the font on the toolbar and the drop down menus?

Thanks!
Last edited by cpcnw on Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cpcnw
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Yet Another Menu Question

Post by cpcnw » Sat Oct 26, 2019 10:27 pm

Turns out there is a control in SMFO - Tools > Option > Appearance > User Interface > Use System Fonts

Which makes the size more to my liking however I cannot change the actual font used there?

In one of the program directory i found gui.txt and it suggests moving it to the app directory and making changes there.
Where is the spec for the following? I got it to accept Arial but want to take the bold off.

[General]
// menu font
menuFont=Arial,8,-1,5,50,0,0,0,0,0
// font for dialogs
font=Arial,8,-1,5,50,0,0,0,0,0

dhalgren
SoftMaker Volunteers
SoftMaker Volunteers
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 6:27 am

Re: Yet Another Menu Question

Post by dhalgren » Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:49 am

If you are using Gnome, you can change it all buy using Gnome Tweak Tool.

I don't use gnome but I found that out by accident when I forgot to prevent netinstall puling in Gnome.Consequently I had to have a play with it, and ended up with TM looking like the screenshot, even after I uninstalled most of Gnome. (I am using Bunsenlabs openbox, so I have to run TM with the switch -gui:gnome so it keeps the changes to the menus made by the gnome tweak tool. I also have to select "use system fonts" in the user interface selection, or it is grubby horribleness.)
Screenshot_TM.png
The changes to the menu fonts are also within the hamburger menu, and this may be what you want.

Hope this helps.

cpcnw
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Yet Another Menu Question

Post by cpcnw » Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:02 pm

Hey - that '-gui:gnome' switch did the trick!!!

Thanks!

cpcnw
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Yet Another Menu Question [FIXED]

Post by cpcnw » Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:18 pm

Also adding

! xft settings !
Xft.antialias: 1
Xft.autohint: 0
Xft.dpi: 96
Xft.hinting: 1
Xft.hintstyle: hintfull
Xft.lcdfilter: lcddefault
Xft.rgba: rgb

to .Xresrouces

dhalgren
SoftMaker Volunteers
SoftMaker Volunteers
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 6:27 am

Re: Yet Another Menu Question [FIXED]

Post by dhalgren » Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:03 pm

Happy to hear the switch worked for you.

I have never had to edit .Xresources for fonts, but that is good to know for the future. Thanks.

cpcnw
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Yet Another Menu Question [FIXED]

Post by cpcnw » Tue Oct 29, 2019 9:43 pm

Also check > Tools > Options > Appearance > Smooth Edge of Screen Fonts

dhalgren
SoftMaker Volunteers
SoftMaker Volunteers
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 6:27 am

Re: Yet Another Menu Question [FIXED]

Post by dhalgren » Thu Oct 31, 2019 12:53 am

Oh yes, I've set that one.
The Bunsenlabs font configuration is very good, however, and I have never had to play with ~/.Xresouces to fix any font configuration issue.

Post Reply

Return to “SoftMaker Office 2018 for Linux (General)”