[SOLVED] Native Dialogs in Xubuntu, yahoo!

g.salmeri

[SOLVED] Native Dialogs in Xubuntu, yahoo!

Post by g.salmeri »

Hello everybody.

I have been using Softmaker Office for at least 10 years and as a Linux Xubuntu user I have been always very satisfied. Only one annoyance, perhaps objectively minor but big in my eyes: the lack of support for native dialogs for XFCE/Xubuntu (I remember that long time ago the support was dropped, leaving only Gnome and KDE). Well, yesterday I discovered that in fact SoftMaker Office *does* support native dialogs at least in Xubuntu, at least in my configuration: it is sufficient to let it believe that the current DE is Gnome (whose dialogs are identical to those of XFCE, being both based on GTK). One can try that by giving in a terminal a command like this:

Code: Select all

DESKTOP_SESSION=gnome textmaker18
In order to avoid this rather clumsy way of starting the programs, it is sufficient to modify the three .desktop files like this:

Exec=sh -c "DESKTOP_SESSION=gnome /usr/bin/textmaker18 %F"
And similarly for Planmaker and Presentation .desktop files.They are in the two folders /usr/local/share/applications and /usr/share/applications.

One warning: DO NOT EVEN TRY, instead of this, to set the DESKTOP_SESSION variable in your .profile! This will freeze your session and brick your computer!

I repeat: I do not know if this works also for other XFCEs and also for configurations different from mine, but for me all seems perfect. Anyway, a quick test with the command from the Terminal cannot harm anything.

Any comment from the the developers? Are they aware of any terrible side-effect I am missing?
Last edited by g.salmeri on Thu Aug 29, 2019 9:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Michael Uplawski
Location: Canton Magny (previously Canton Carrouges), Orne, Normandy (previously Lower Normandy)

Re: Native Dialogs in Xubuntu, yahoo!

Post by Michael Uplawski »