Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office [semi-solved]

Post here those questions, bug reports and suggestions for SoftMaker Office 2018 for Linux that do not fit in any of the application-specific subforums.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
milomak
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:16 pm

Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office [semi-solved]

Post by milomak » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:20 am

i'm not sure what i need to provide here.

i am running debian sid. this issue has happened with both cinnamon and plasma with cairo-dock on the free trial version (993?). The same problem happens with FreeOffice.

interestingly it happens on my laptop which has an intel driver but not on my imac with the radeon driver

when i start any of the apps it sends cairo-dock into maintenance mode. i am then not sure what i should do so i close the box (it appears twice). but clearly calling any of the softmaker apps should not be causing cairo-dock to go into maintenance mode.

happy to provide any information which is necessary
Last edited by milomak on Sun Nov 11, 2018 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

raitis.veksejs
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:29 am

Re: Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office

Post by raitis.veksejs » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:29 am

Run any of SoftMaker Office 2018 program with the -debug parameter

1.) @ terminal enter textmaker18 -debug

2.) This will log the launch of the software in the file tmlog.txt

And you can also run Textmaker (PlanMaker, Presetnations) with strace

1.) strace -f textmaker18 2>output.txt The same applies to other programs.
2.) ?>About... and Write system information gives you file sminfo.txt

Please submit ticket on our support desk or private message with these files and we will forward it to our developers team for investigation of problem.

nachordez
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:46 pm

Re: Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office

Post by nachordez » Thu Sep 13, 2018 5:33 pm

I have exactly the same problem, I've generated both files, if you still need them. I can't send pm by now, so, I just attach my files here. But they are too big to be attached, and I can't send pm. So, please, get them in this link, which will be active just for a week from now https://we.tl/t-SkMjO0y0cV

Thanks

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7999
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office

Post by sven-l » Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:30 pm

Are you also working with unstable Debian Sid?
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

nachordez
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:46 pm

Re: Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office

Post by nachordez » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:03 am

No, I'm on Ubuntu 18.04 64-bit

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7999
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office

Post by sven-l » Thu Sep 20, 2018 11:36 am

Please attach your debug or (if it doesn't work) your strace file. Thank you!
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

milomak
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office

Post by milomak » Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:35 am

sven-l wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 11:36 am
Please attach your debug or (if it doesn't work) your strace file. Thank you!
i think i have asked how to do this and done so

have you run this against intel?

i don't have this issue with amdgpu

milomak
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office

Post by milomak » Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:00 pm

this issue still persists even with the latest update

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 3025
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office

Post by martin-k » Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:45 pm

I don't think there is much we can do. Cairo Dock was last updated four (!) years ago, and if you google "cairo dock crashes", you get many hits that are not related to SoftMaker Office. It is near impossible for us to find bugs in other applications.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

milomak
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Cairo-Dock and SoftMaker Office

Post by milomak » Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:23 pm

didn't realise it had not been updated in that long

let me investigate some alternatives

edit - went with docky

Post Reply

Return to “SoftMaker Office 2018 for Linux (General)”