Can I create a new Textmaker document containing the fields from a table?

Post your questions, bug reports and suggestions here for BasicMaker 2018 for Windows.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
colonel_panic
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:19 pm

Can I create a new Textmaker document containing the fields from a table?

Post by colonel_panic » Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:43 pm

Hello

I have a document. It's basically a form made up entirely from tables.

What I'd like to do is take the contents of one or more cells in a table and pass them to a new document so I could have an entry on my form in a new document.

I can do this to different sections in a document in plain Textmaker, but it would be more elegant if I could do it with a script and create a new document rather than a plain one.

Thanks for looking! I'd appreciate any insights.

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8027
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Can I create a new Textmaker document containing the fields from a table?

Post by sven-l » Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:36 am

Could you please attach a sample file or send one to forum (at)softmaker.com?
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

colonel_panic
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:19 pm

Re: Can I create a new Textmaker document containing the fields from a table?

Post by colonel_panic » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:55 am

Thanks for your quick reply Sven-l.
What I'd like to do is take have a form like the attached example "The new form.tmdx" with four textboxes, and have people fill it out in form mode.
I'd then like to write a script which generates a file based on the attached template "Data to here please.tmvx" with the data from the filled out form in the four textboxes.
Ideally, I would like the document generated from the template to be named after two textboxes.
Is it possible?
Attachments
The new form.tmdx
(8.06 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Data to here please.tmvx
(8.01 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8027
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Can I create a new Textmaker document containing the fields from a table?

Post by sven-l » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:14 am

No, I don't think it would work with a script. What you could do in TextMaker is to attach a database (e.g. an dbf file) with your database in it. Then insert the database fields into the table (mail merge).
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

colonel_panic
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:19 pm

Re: Can I create a new Textmaker document containing the fields from a table?

Post by colonel_panic » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:04 am

It's quite a complicated form. I think it might be a bit clunky to just enter the fields into a database.

I can see myself having to write something in Python to do this job. Thanks anyway. :D

Post Reply

Return to “BasicMaker 2018 for Windows”