Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Questions and answers about PlanMaker 2018 for Windows
Post Reply
User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Post by Princy557 » Sun Sep 01, 2019 7:43 pm

Hi,
Are there any future plans to make buttons etc active so that they can trigger an action?
Such as running a .bas file done in BasicMaker?

Regards
Princy557
Regards

Princy557

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2795
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Post by martin-k » Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:37 pm

This already works. Add a user-defined button to a toolbar or ribbon tab and assign it to execute "BasicMaker.exe /s scriptname.bas"
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Post by Princy557 » Sun Sep 01, 2019 11:51 pm

Hi Martin-k
Disregard, Looks like I've been running off the old help manual. sorry about that.

Regards
Princy557
Regards

Princy557

User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Post by Princy557 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:24 pm

Hi martin,
Just as a follow up, now finding some of the answers I could not find in an 'old' .pdf.
Struggling now to work out how to action a button to open and read a cell, then to write back another value.
Keeps me off the streets ha ha.
Regards Princy557 :lol:
Regards

Princy557

Jcrey2255
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:45 pm

Re: Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Post by Jcrey2255 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:47 pm

Any update on how to do this?

I can't seem to figure out how to attach a script to a form button in PlanMaker. ](*,)

User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Post by Princy557 » Sat Sep 05, 2020 11:24 am

Hi Jcrey,
Sorry, but I got distracted on to a couple of other projects. So as yet I have no information. If I get any I'll put it here.
I'm just about to put another similar question on the group.
regards
Regards

Princy557

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Post by SuperTech » Sat Sep 05, 2020 7:10 pm

Jcrey2255 wrote:
Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:47 pm
Any update on how to do this?
Click on ribbon command File | Customize dropdown | Customize ribbon > in Quicksearch type "User", you will find several User-defined buttons, click on any one > Click ">>" to add button on ribbon > Click on Edit below > Update desired description > In command line type "BasicMaker.exe /s scriptnamewithfullpath.bas" where scriptnamewithfullpath is script file's full path and name > Press close.
Add button.png
You will find this new button on your ribbon clicking which will execute the script file for you.

Thanks

User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Post by Princy557 » Sat Sep 05, 2020 8:53 pm

Supertech
Thanks for that

Should I be able to write a piece of BAS code that will insert a time and a date into the workbook. AND also open a workbook specified by the cell?
Regards

Princy557

SuperTech
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:31 pm

Re: Activate script via a button - is it going to happen?

Post by SuperTech » Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:29 am

Yes, you can build a BasicMaker script that can do several things for you just by a single click. Please refer to the BasicMaker manual for detailed instructions.

Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “PlanMaker 2018 for Windows”