Wide spaces between words in justified text

newthings

Wide spaces between words in justified text

Post by newthings »

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new at using TextMaker.
I have an imported RTF document with justified text.
How do I reduce the gap between words?
Can this be fixed for the whole document like in MS Word?
This is a book and I have a lot of paragraphs.
Any help will be appreciated.
Jossi
SoftMaker Volunteers
SoftMaker Volunteers

Re: Wide spaces between words in justified text

Post by Jossi »

The proper way to avoid wide gaps between words is to use hyphenation.
G.R.H

Post by G.R.H »

I don't know what your purpose for this text is, but I would nuke the entire document in Notepad, or your plain text editor of choice - mine is Notepad++. This will clear any corruption and codes from the previous application and leave you with a clean text file. You can then open/import this into a word-processor of choice for editing. If you are going to create a publication from this file, may I suggest Serif PagePlus X9, which can be had for around £20 from their website. It is probably the best DTP program available at the moment - unless you can afford Adobe InDesign. After editing, nuke again before importing into the DTP.

Hope that helps some.
Jossi
SoftMaker Volunteers
SoftMaker Volunteers

Post by Jossi »

Without knowing anything about the intentions of the thread opener or the kind of document he has in his hands, I see no reason why he should take a double detour through a text editor. When you make all non-printable characters visible in TextMaker (Tools > Options, Tab "View"), you can do all the cleaning up directly in TextMaker. Likewise, while you need a DTP program for professional work, many people write complete book manuscripts with TextMaker and export them as PDF for printing. So we can't be sure if there is a need for using a DTP application here at all.