Insert Field... bug

Post your questions, bug reports and suggestions here for FreeOffice TextMaker 2016 for Windows.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
Grissey
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 6:28 pm

Insert Field... bug

Post by Grissey » Wed May 18, 2016 6:42 pm

I've just encountered a minor bug in TextMaker when inserting Fields from User (Home) data into a document.
If I create a simple document and Insert Field... User(Home) First name followed by Insert Field... User(Home) Last name it displays my name "Graham White" correctly. When I save the document and then re-open it, it has changed from "Graham White" to "White White"

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8027
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Insert Field... bug

Post by sven-l » Thu May 19, 2016 10:33 am

The problem is that the .doc and .docx format cannot handle all fields TextMaker offers. We have separate fields for first and last name, Word just has a "Name" field.

Either save in .tmd file format; that format can handle all fields. Or enter your full name in Tools/Options/User(Business) in the last name field and insert only the last name field in your document.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Grissey
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 6:28 pm

Re: Insert Field... bug

Post by Grissey » Thu May 19, 2016 7:32 pm

Thank you Sven. I'll use the Last Name as you advise.
As a new user of SoftMaker FreeOffice I'm very impressed with the whole package.

Post Reply

Return to “FreeOffice TextMaker 2016 for Windows”