Internet connection needed for every start up

Post here those questions, bug reports and suggestions for SoftMaker Office 2016 for Linux that do not fit in any of the application-specific subforums.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Thu Feb 11, 2016 10:02 am

attilas wrote:Every message and dialog boxes are affected.

I’m using openSUSE Tumbleweed (20160208) (x86_64)

My hardware:
Dell Latitude E6520 notebook
CPU: i5-2540M CPU @ 2.60GH
RAM: 16GB DDR3-1333MHz
GPU: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller)
I'll check that with an OpenSUSE.
kgha wrote:The amount of hotfixes circulating is a bit confusing - I received version 8734, attilas obviously has got both 7077, 7342 and 8770. Version 7342 apparently works flawlessly for Jim-J and at least solves the connection required-issue for attilas (although at the price of slow dialogs).
I would be happy to try version 7342 and see how it works on my install (AbsoluteLinux 14.12, Lenovo U330p, CPU i5-4210U @ 1.70 GHz, RAM 8 MB).
The Hotfix number is not relevant. It is not continuous. It for internal purposes and not official.
LanceGary wrote:I haven't received any of the hotfixes. Please can you use my gmail address?

Lance
If you can give me your Gmail address, no problem. You can send it to forum(at)softmaker.de
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:46 pm

attilas wrote:Every message and dialog boxes are affected.

I’m using openSUSE Tumbleweed (20160208) (x86_64)

My hardware:
Dell Latitude E6520 notebook
CPU: i5-2540M CPU @ 2.60GH
RAM: 16GB DDR3-1333MHz
GPU: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller)
I checked this now with OpenSUSE 64bit.

The Tools->Opens dialog reacts slightly a little slower than before. Let's say, about 0,2- 0,3 seconds. But this has nothing to do with the Internet connection bug fix.
The support for SDL is missing. This can cost a little performance, depending on the CPU power.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

attilas
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by attilas » Thu Feb 11, 2016 5:53 pm

Jim-J wrote:
attilas wrote:Every message and dialog boxes are affected.

I’m using openSUSE Tumbleweed (20160208) (x86_64)

My hardware:
Dell Latitude E6520 notebook
CPU: i5-2540M CPU @ 2.60GH
RAM: 16GB DDR3-1333MHz
GPU: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller)
I checked this now with OpenSUSE 64bit.

The Tools->Opens dialog reacts slightly a little slower than before. Let's say, about 0,2- 0,3 seconds. But this has nothing to do with the Internet connection bug fix.
The support for SDL is missing. This can cost a little performance, depending on the CPU power.
Jim-J,

I don't have this problem with the following versions:
Original rev 749.1207
ofl16_hotfix_7077 rev 750.1220
ofl16_hotfix_8870 rev 750.1221

Only with the:
ofl16_hotfix_7342 rev 751.0209

How would you explain this?
There must be something introduced in the 7342 hotfix, which at least on my system causes lagging message and dialog boxes.

On the other hand I can't reproduce this thing with openSUSE Tumbleweed (20160208) (x86_64) on Virtualbox ...

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:34 pm

I checked the ofl16_hotfix_8870 rev 750.1221.

SDL is still active. It's not implemented in the last hotfixes. As I said, this can cost a little performance.
The Tools->Options dialog needs some CPU/GPU power when loading, because all of the Office settings are fetched.
This is a hotfix and not the final version. Please wait for the final service pack.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

attilas
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by attilas » Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:49 pm

Jim-J wrote:I checked the ofl16_hotfix_8870 rev 750.1221.

SDL is still active. It's not implemented in the last hotfixes. As I said, this can cost a little performance.
The Tools->Options dialog needs some CPU/GPU power when loading, because all of the Office settings are fetched.
This is a hotfix and not the final version. Please wait for the final service pack.
Jim-J,

1) As I said __every__ message and dialog boxes are affected, not just the Tools -> Options. For example: File -> Open, Help -> About, etc.
2) If I untick the "Window Manager dialogs" in the Options-> Appearance, then are there suddenly less office settings to fetch? Because if I untick that option, message and dialog boxes opens quickly.
3) Why is it that even I can't reproduce it with openSUSE Tumbleweed (20160208) (x86_64) on Virtualbox with less CPU and GPU power?

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Fri Feb 12, 2016 3:58 pm

We are going to check this.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

arobbo
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:30 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by arobbo » Thu Feb 25, 2016 5:09 am

Oh dear. I have this problem also - currently using a 32bit TahrPup (Puppy Linux, Ubuntu-compatible configuration) and cannot open any SoftMaker 2016 when offline. Please make it a priority to correct this alarming oversight, it sets a bad precedent for your company,
Yours Most Sincerely,
arobbo

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:51 am

attilas wrote:
Jim-J wrote:I checked the ofl16_hotfix_8870 rev 750.1221.

SDL is still active. It's not implemented in the last hotfixes. As I said, this can cost a little performance.
The Tools->Options dialog needs some CPU/GPU power when loading, because all of the Office settings are fetched.
This is a hotfix and not the final version. Please wait for the final service pack.
Jim-J,

1) As I said __every__ message and dialog boxes are affected, not just the Tools -> Options. For example: File -> Open, Help -> About, etc.
2) If I untick the "Window Manager dialogs" in the Options-> Appearance, then are there suddenly less office settings to fetch? Because if I untick that option, message and dialog boxes opens quickly.
3) Why is it that even I can't reproduce it with openSUSE Tumbleweed (20160208) (x86_64) on Virtualbox with less CPU and GPU power?
Can you tell me what kind of Intel GMA (GPU) model is built in your computer?
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:51 am

arobbo wrote:Oh dear. I have this problem also - currently using a 32bit TahrPup (Puppy Linux, Ubuntu-compatible configuration) and cannot open any SoftMaker 2016 when offline. Please make it a priority to correct this alarming oversight, it sets a bad precedent for your company,
Yours Most Sincerely,
arobbo
I sent you an e-mail.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

attilas
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by attilas » Fri Feb 26, 2016 3:47 pm

Jim-J wrote:
attilas wrote:
Jim-J wrote:I checked the ofl16_hotfix_8870 rev 750.1221.

SDL is still active. It's not implemented in the last hotfixes. As I said, this can cost a little performance.
The Tools->Options dialog needs some CPU/GPU power when loading, because all of the Office settings are fetched.
This is a hotfix and not the final version. Please wait for the final service pack.
Jim-J,

1) As I said __every__ message and dialog boxes are affected, not just the Tools -> Options. For example: File -> Open, Help -> About, etc.
2) If I untick the "Window Manager dialogs" in the Options-> Appearance, then are there suddenly less office settings to fetch? Because if I untick that option, message and dialog boxes opens quickly.
3) Why is it that even I can't reproduce it with openSUSE Tumbleweed (20160208) (x86_64) on Virtualbox with less CPU and GPU power?
Can you tell me what kind of Intel GMA (GPU) model is built in your computer?
Hello Jim-J,

My GPU:
Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000

lspci

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:16.3 Serial controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family KT Controller (rev 04)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 04)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b4)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev b4)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev b4)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 4 (rev b4)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 6 (rev b4)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation QM67 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 6 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 04)
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Advanced-N 6205 [Taylor Peak] (rev 34)
0a:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): O2 Micro, Inc. 1394 OHCI Compliant Host Controller (rev 05)
0a:00.1 SD Host controller: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ600RJ0/OZ900RJ0/OZ600RJS SD/MMC Card Reader Controller (rev 05)
0a:00.2 Mass storage controller: O2 Micro, Inc. O2 Flash Memory Card (rev 05)
hwinfo

Code: Select all

14: PCI 02.0: 0300 VGA compatible controller (VGA)
  [Created at pci.366]
  Unique ID: _Znp.rlQhUbJITr7
  SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0
  SysFS BusID: 0000:00:02.0
  Hardware Class: graphics card
  Device Name: "Onboard IGD"
  Model: "Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller"
  Vendor: pci 0x8086 "Intel Corporation"
  Device: pci 0x0126 "2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller"
  SubVendor: pci 0x1028 "Dell"
  SubDevice: pci 0x0494 
  Revision: 0x09
  Driver: "i915"
  Driver Modules: "drm"
  Memory Range: 0xe1400000-0xe17fffff (rw,non-prefetchable)
  Memory Range: 0xd0000000-0xdfffffff (ro,non-prefetchable)
  I/O Ports: 0x4000-0x403f (rw)
  IRQ: 25 (43906 events)
  I/O Ports: 0x3c0-0x3df (rw)
  Module Alias: "pci:v00008086d00000126sv00001028sd00000494bc03sc00i00"
  Driver Info #0:
    Driver Status: i915 is active
    Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe i915"
  Config Status: cfg=no, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown

arobbo
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:30 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by arobbo » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:14 am

Thanks Jim - I received your link from the "Desktop Partners" address and have only recently implemented the hotfix. I am afraid it didn't work, but I tried a number of approaches all to no avail. I even copied the new files across to manually over-write the previous ones. With the wifi off, SoftMaker2016 refused to open or acknowledge it had a valid registration key. I will try a full reboot but I don't think I will be successful.
Cheers

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Mon Feb 29, 2016 3:27 pm

Hello,

we are just checking this issue with a on-board Intel GPU. I will give a notice as soon as I get some results.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

nemysis
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:39 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by nemysis » Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:02 am

I use openSUSE 13.2 with KDE and use SDL with SoftMaker.

This is installed
softmaker-office-2016-749.x86_64.rpm

Have problem not works TextMaker without Internet and PlanMaker works.
I try to give product key but not works.

Could You send me fix for this? Write me on Private messages and i give email there.

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8000
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by sven-l » Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:42 pm

attilas wrote:Every message and dialog boxes are affected.

I’m using openSUSE Tumbleweed (20160208) (x86_64)

My hardware:
Dell Latitude E6520 notebook
CPU: i5-2540M CPU @ 2.60GH
RAM: 16GB DDR3-1333MHz
GPU: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller)
We could now reproduce that issue here on a Lenovo X200 Notebook. I reported that issue to the developer and will inform you as soon as we have a fix for this.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8000
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by sven-l » Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:43 pm

nemysis wrote:I use openSUSE 13.2 with KDE and use SDL with SoftMaker.

This is installed
softmaker-office-2016-749.x86_64.rpm

Have problem not works TextMaker without Internet and PlanMaker works.
I try to give product key but not works.

Could You send me fix for this? Write me on Private messages and i give email there.
I will send you a PM.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Post Reply

Return to “SoftMaker Office 2016 for Linux (General)”