Internet connection needed for every start up

Post here those questions, bug reports and suggestions for SoftMaker Office 2016 for Linux that do not fit in any of the application-specific subforums.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

attilas
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by attilas » Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:07 pm

sminfo sent

attilas
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by attilas » Tue Jan 26, 2016 2:27 am

Is there any news on this issue :?:

LanceGary
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:55 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by LanceGary » Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:46 pm

I would also be very interested in hearing when this issue will be fixed.

Lance

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:48 am

Hello,

the developers are already working to find a solution. It should be finished with the next service pack release. Please be patient.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

kgha
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:52 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by kgha » Sun Feb 07, 2016 11:57 am

Same problem after installing SM16 rev 749.1208
I do hope a fix will be available soon.

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Mon Feb 08, 2016 3:26 pm

I sent you all an e-mail.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

kgha
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:52 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by kgha » Mon Feb 08, 2016 4:35 pm

No, sorry, the hotfix distributed today via e-mail did not fix this issue.
What I did:
downloaded the .tgz file
unpacked it
copied all files from folder ~/downloads/ofl16_hotfix_8437 to /usr/share/office2016 (choosing "overwrite all")

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:25 am

I will send your answer to the developers.

Thank you.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

attilas
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by attilas » Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:20 pm

Jim-J, if there is a fix to this issue, please send it to me too. (The latest I have: ofl16_hotfix_8770)

By the way it's a shame that after two months this issue is still unfixed, and even there is no temporary workaround for us.
Maybe you should (or I should?) hire some hackers and they will "fix" this issue in minutes. The Windows version is "already fixed" as I saw it - activation is not a problem for hackers, but problem for the legal users.

I'm considering requesting a refund if this issue will not be fixed in February.

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:22 am

attilas wrote:Jim-J, if there is a fix to this issue, please send it to me too. (The latest I have: ofl16_hotfix_8770)

By the way it's a shame that after two months this issue is still unfixed, and even there is no temporary workaround for us.
Maybe you should (or I should?) hire some hackers and they will "fix" this issue in minutes. The Windows version is "already fixed" as I saw it - activation is not a problem for hackers, but problem for the legal users.

I'm considering requesting a refund if this issue will not be fixed in February.
I sent you an e-mail.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

attilas
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by attilas » Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:56 am

Thank you Jim-J,

The ofl16_hotfix_7342 finally works for me, but now the message and dialog boxes comes up really slowly, takes 2-3 seconds, for example Tools > Options, or File > Page Setup. This issue goes away if In the Options > Appearance I untick the "Window Manager dialogs" option.

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by Jim-J » Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:36 pm

Hi,

I checked this issue with the same hotfix. The Tools->Options dialog opens with normal speed. I didn't notice any delays.

Is this also with another dialog?

Which Linux distribution are you using? Can you please tell me the specs of your hardware (CPU, RAM, GPU)?
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

attilas
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by attilas » Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:23 pm

Every message and dialog boxes are affected.

I’m using openSUSE Tumbleweed (20160208) (x86_64)

My hardware:
Dell Latitude E6520 notebook
CPU: i5-2540M CPU @ 2.60GH
RAM: 16GB DDR3-1333MHz
GPU: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller)

kgha
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:52 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by kgha » Wed Feb 10, 2016 7:20 pm

The amount of hotfixes circulating is a bit confusing - I received version 8734, attilas obviously has got both 7077, 7342 and 8770. Version 7342 apparently works flawlessly for Jim-J and at least solves the connection required-issue for attilas (although at the price of slow dialogs).
I would be happy to try version 7342 and see how it works on my install (AbsoluteLinux 14.12, Lenovo U330p, CPU i5-4210U @ 1.70 GHz, RAM 8 MB).

LanceGary
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:55 pm

Re: Internet connection needed for every start up

Post by LanceGary » Thu Feb 11, 2016 12:27 am

I haven't received any of the hotfixes. Please can you use my gmail address?

Lance

Post Reply

Return to “SoftMaker Office 2016 for Linux (General)”