Importing .rtf outline

Post your questions, bug reports and suggestions here for Presentations 2016 for Windows.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
BMoore
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:42 pm

Importing .rtf outline

Post by BMoore » Thu May 12, 2016 4:22 pm

When I import a .rtf outline, it puts the title on one slide and all the points on a second slide.
I am just going to Insert/ Insert from outline. I am starting with a blank presentation.
I end up with two slides for each major point (should be one slide)
First slide is a title with no points. Second is points with no title.

Does it every time.
?????
What am I missing?

Bryan

BMoore
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:42 pm

Importing .rtf Outline 2

Post by BMoore » Thu May 12, 2016 4:31 pm

In continuing to try to insert an outline into Presentation 2016, I am concluding that it must be a bug.

When I have a blank line between major points, it imports the Title on one slide and the points on a second slide.
When I remove the blank line, it then shifts the points of each slide to the next slide.
First slide will be a title with no points.
Slide 2 will have title 2 with slide 1 points
Slide 3 will have title 3 with slide 2 points, etc

Alfred
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 3:40 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Importing .rtf Outline 2

Post by Alfred » Thu May 12, 2016 6:16 pm

Wouldn't this update have been better posted to your original thread, Bryan, thus keeping the discussion in one place? :?
La perfection est atteinte non quand il ne reste rien à ajouter, mais quand il ne reste rien à enlever.
(Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.)
- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1900-1944)

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8123
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Importing .rtf outline

Post by sven-l » Fri May 13, 2016 10:52 am

I merged the topics.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8123
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Importing .rtf outline

Post by sven-l » Fri May 13, 2016 10:53 am

@BMoore: Could you please send us some sample file to forum(at)softmaker.de? Thank you!
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

BMoore
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:42 pm

Re: Importing .rtf outline

Post by BMoore » Mon May 16, 2016 2:22 pm

Attached is an example of a .rtf outline that I imported into Presentation.
The bullet points of the first slide are shifted to the second slide, the bullet points of the second slide are shifted to the third slide,
third to fourth and so on.

Importing an outline can be a nice feature if it works properly but counter productive if you have to cut and paste to fix it.

Thanks,
Bryan Moore
Attachments
Is Healing For Today2.rtf
(14.73 KiB) Downloaded 161 times
Faith For Healing Class 2.prd
(72.5 KiB) Downloaded 289 times

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8123
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Importing .rtf outline

Post by sven-l » Tue May 17, 2016 3:08 pm

Sorry to ask that but how exactly (step-by-step) did you import the rtf file into your presentation?
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

BMoore
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:42 pm

Re: Importing .rtf outline

Post by BMoore » Sun May 22, 2016 12:20 am

Are you serious?
Insert/Slide From Outline

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8123
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Importing .rtf outline

Post by sven-l » Mon May 23, 2016 9:14 am

BMoore wrote:Attached is an example of a .rtf outline that I imported into Presentation.
The bullet points of the first slide are shifted to the second slide, the bullet points of the second slide are shifted to the third slide,
third to fourth and so on.

Importing an outline can be a nice feature if it works properly but counter productive if you have to cut and paste to fix it.

Thanks,
Bryan Moore
I can see the issue now and will report that to our devleopers. Thank you!
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

BMoore
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:42 pm

Re: Importing .rtf outline

Post by BMoore » Wed Jun 08, 2016 4:37 am

I just tried to import another outline from rtf. The truth of the matter is that Presentation just doesn't import outlines well at all. It is one of those things that should either be fixed or take it off the menu. It wastes peoples time trying to make it work.

Thanks,
Bryan Moore

Post Reply

Return to “Presentations 2016 for Windows”