Workbook index

Questions and answers about PlanMaker 2016 for Windows
Post Reply
User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Workbook index

Post by Princy557 » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:03 pm

HI,
Not sure what to call this.....
But I would like to create a basic workbook which contains all the workbooks names that I use on a regular basis.
All I want to do is for the Planmaker to load this as a default book, then for me to click select the workbook I want to use , click on it and it should open in the current Planmaker as a workbook?
Regards

Princy557

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2795
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Workbook index

Post by martin-k » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:05 pm

In a cell, type the name of the workbook file (or some other indicator that shows you which file it is), then call Format/Link and enter the path+file name. Repeat with all other workbooks for which you want to create this index file.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Workbook index

Post by Princy557 » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:13 pm

Hi Martin,
Thanks for the quick reply, will give that a go in half an hours time....
:D
Regards

Princy557

User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Workbook index

Post by Princy557 » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:41 pm

HI,
Works a treat, thanks for that.

is there a way to get a workbook to load as a default?
Regards

Princy557

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2795
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Workbook index

Post by martin-k » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:44 pm

Pass it in the command line: PlanMaker.exe filename.xls

But much more simple: Create a shortcut to this document on the desktop. Double-clicking the shortcut will start PlanMaker and load the file into it.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

User avatar
Princy557
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Workbook index

Post by Princy557 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:49 pm

Hi Martin,
Yes that all worked well thanks for the quick response.
I've been a little busy. ancient mother in law staying so get distracted doing her bidding :D :o
I had a little bit of a problem with editing the shortcut so that it would accept the .pmdx file, but it turned out to be a typo and an extra pair of " stuck on the line.
All working wonderfully now. Thanks again.
Regards

Princy557

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2795
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Workbook index

Post by martin-k » Sat Sep 24, 2016 10:40 am

Glad to hear you were able to implement this as desired.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Post Reply

Return to “PlanMaker 2016 for Windows”