Reset user data

Post here those questions, bug reports and suggestions for SoftMaker Office 2016 for Windows that do not fit in any of the application-specific subforums.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
snowshed
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:10 pm

Reset user data

Post by snowshed » Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:07 pm

I want to use Softmaker for tutoring individuals on the basics of using a word processor.

When you start Textmaker, for the very first time after installation, a dialogue comes up asking for user information. After that, it doesn't display.

How can I configure Softmaker so every time Textmaker is run, that dialogue is displayed asking for the information.

Thank you.

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 3034
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Reset user data

Post by martin-k » Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:18 pm

Press Escape at that point instead of clicking on OK.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

snowshed
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:10 pm

Re: Reset user data

Post by snowshed » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:38 am

Hi, Martin,
martin-k wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:18 pm
Press Escape at that point instead of clicking on OK.
I must be missing something... :lol:

Exactly what is the "point" that you are referring to?

Textmaker is pinned to the taskbar (Windows 7), press and hold the Esc key, click on the taskbar icon, no dialogue.

Open Textmaker, close the default blank document. Press and hold Esc key, select the Open icon, no dialogue.

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 3034
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Reset user data

Post by martin-k » Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:33 pm

When the dialog box appears, press Escape, and it will appear again the next time you start the program.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

snowshed
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:10 pm

Re: Reset user data

Post by snowshed » Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:37 pm

martin-k wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:33 pm
When the dialog box appears, press Escape, and it will appear again the next time you start the program.
Hi, martin-k,

I've already run Textmaker for the first, so now there is no dialogue box at Textmaker startup.

I've tried removing and reinstalling, that didn't bring the initial dialogue box back. I suspect the answer is in the regristry, but I don't do anything there without instructions.

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 8033
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Reset user data

Post by sven-l » Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:45 pm

You can find the user information dialog in the Options under General=>User info. Or rename/delete the settings folder in \Documents\SoftMaker in order to reset all user settings and make the box appear again on the next start.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Post Reply

Return to “SoftMaker Office 2016 for Windows (General)”