Request: high resolution display support

Post your questions, bug reports and suggestions here for TextMaker HD for Android.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
Hefaistos
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Request: high resolution display support

Post by Hefaistos » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:06 pm

Do you plan to support high resolution display fully? I use Note 4 (QHD screen) and some icons are not sharp, while text is smooth.

Jim-J
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Request: high resolution display support

Post by Jim-J » Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:37 pm

Hefaistos wrote:Do you plan to support high resolution display fully? I use Note 4 (QHD screen) and some icons are not sharp, while text is smooth.
Hello,

SoftMaker Office HD support QHD screens. We tested the office suite with a Nexus 9 and 10 up to 2560 x 1504.

There are no known problems. Can you make a screenshot and send it to us?
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Hefaistos
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Request: high resolution display support

Post by Hefaistos » Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:01 pm

See the attachment.
Attachments
Screenshot_2014-11-27-20-57-26.jpg

Jim-J
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Request: high resolution display support

Post by Jim-J » Fri Nov 28, 2014 9:19 am

Hefaistos wrote:See the attachment.
Hello,

Thank you for the screenshot. Can you send us the sminfo.txt (Invoke "Tools->About->Write System Information")

What exact resolution (height and width in pixels) does your device have?


Thank you.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Hefaistos
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:56 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Request: high resolution display support

Post by Hefaistos » Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:56 am

My screen resolution is 2 560 x 1 440 (height x width in portrait mode, resp. width X height in landscape mode)
Attachments
sminfo.txt
(22.48 KiB) Downloaded 123 times

Jim-J
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Request: high resolution display support

Post by Jim-J » Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Hello,

I reported this to our developer team. Thank you.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

JornadaGuy
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:59 am

Re: Request: high resolution display support

Post by JornadaGuy » Thu Dec 04, 2014 5:30 pm

If I were to take a stab at this, as a developer, I would say that it's not a problem, but a perfectly reasonable design choice.

Unlike fonts, the icons are not generated on the fly procedurally. They are "resources" of limited resolution that are packed into the app "package".

If each icon was procedurally generated the UI performance would be needlessly slowed by all that processing.

If each icon bitmap was a very hi-res resource that would look super-smooth regardless of screen resolution it would needlessly take up more memory - which we don't want on these limited RAM devices.

All in all they work perfectly well and I'm willing to trade-off icon resolution for more available RAM.

Post Reply

Return to “TextMaker HD”