Search & Replace in Tables?

Post bug reports and suggestions for TextMaker 2010 and TextMaker Viewer 2010 for Windows.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

RKanarek
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 6:59 am

Search & Replace in Tables?

Postby RKanarek » Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:00 am

Greetings.

There seems to be a small problem with TextMaker 2010’s search and replace function. I noticed it while editing a MS Word .docx formatted book that I downloaded from the Internet. (BTW, I was quite impressed by how quickly and seemingly perfectly TextMaker 2010 was able to convert the document!).
The document contained extra spaces before paragraph breaks. TM had no trouble eliminating them from the body of the document, but its Search and Replace function didn’t seem to work properly on or within tables. Or perhaps it’s only special formatting it has trouble with? (Aside: The ability to Search and Replace special formatting is very helpful, thanks!)

Take this sample table:
Sample_Table.png
Sample_Table.png (1.33 KiB) Viewed 3563 times

If TextMaker is configured to “Show Unprintable Characters”, you will notice that there is an unnecessary space before each paragraph break. When I place the cursor before search, and run the Search and Replace function...
Sample_Table_Search.png

...and then “click” on the [Search] button, I get the following:
Sample_Table_Replace.png

You’ll notice that it found the space-PB, but that it’s not offering me the option of executing a single replace: the [Replace] button is grayed-out. Further, if I click on the [Replace all] button, it only replaces the single occurrence highlighted.

Did I do something wrong or did one of your programmers? ;-)

Cordially,
Richard Kanarek

Jossi
SoftMaker Volunteers
SoftMaker Volunteers
Posts: 602
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: Luebeck, Germany

Re: Search & Replace in Tables?

Postby Jossi » Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:54 pm

Looks like a bug. (BTW: It's still the same in TextMaker 2012).

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 6043
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Search & Replace in Tables?

Postby sven-l » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:31 am

I referred that problem to our developers.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

RKanarek
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 6:59 am

Re: Search & Replace in Tables?

Postby RKanarek » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:56 am

Dear Jossi and Sven:

Just a short note to thank you for pursuing this matter.

Cordially,
Richard Kanarek


Return to “TextMaker 2010 for Windows”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests