SoftMaker.com

English-Language Support
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 11:08 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 6:59 am
Posts: 41
Greetings.

There seems to be a small problem with TextMaker 2010’s search and replace function. I noticed it while editing a MS Word .docx formatted book that I downloaded from the Internet. (BTW, I was quite impressed by how quickly and seemingly perfectly TextMaker 2010 was able to convert the document!).
The document contained extra spaces before paragraph breaks. TM had no trouble eliminating them from the body of the document, but its Search and Replace function didn’t seem to work properly on or within tables. Or perhaps it’s only special formatting it has trouble with? (Aside: The ability to Search and Replace special formatting is very helpful, thanks!)

Take this sample table:
Attachment:
Sample_Table.png
Sample_Table.png [ 1.33 KiB | Viewed 3129 times ]

If TextMaker is configured to “Show Unprintable Characters”, you will notice that there is an unnecessary space before each paragraph break. When I place the cursor before search, and run the Search and Replace function...
Attachment:
Sample_Table_Search.png
Sample_Table_Search.png [ 13.78 KiB | Viewed 3129 times ]

...and then “click” on the [Search] button, I get the following:
Attachment:
Sample_Table_Replace.png
Sample_Table_Replace.png [ 15.45 KiB | Viewed 3129 times ]

You’ll notice that it found the space-PB, but that it’s not offering me the option of executing a single replace: the [Replace] button is grayed-out. Further, if I click on the [Replace all] button, it only replaces the single occurrence highlighted.

Did I do something wrong or did one of your programmers? ;-)

Cordially,
Richard Kanarek


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:54 pm 
Offline
SoftMaker Volunteers
SoftMaker Volunteers

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 493
Location: Solingen, Germany
Looks like a bug. (BTW: It's still the same in TextMaker 2012).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:31 am 
Offline
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:26 am
Posts: 5303
Location: Nuremberg
I referred that problem to our developers.

_________________
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 6:59 am
Posts: 41
Dear Jossi and Sven:

Just a short note to thank you for pursuing this matter.

Cordially,
Richard Kanarek


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group