SoftMaker.com

English-Language Support
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:52 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:02 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,

Just discovered SMO 2010 Linux yesterday. Currently evaluating. Using LinuxMint 11 x64, Gnome 2.32.1

I installed softmaker-office-2010-trial_amd64.deb, TextMaker and Presentation Maker were able to open MS Office doc & ppt. I hope SMO 2010 will live up to its reputation. For now what I noticed the GUI of SMO 2010 is rather different:

- SMO 2010 Menu doesn't have the look and feel of Gnome GUI (Menu, tabs, buttons, checkmark, etc.). It seems like SMO use its own GUI. The font in the menu is also different (than Gnome Application Font) and it looks rather pixelated.

- Font rendering: I open the same MS Office doc file using TextMaker 2010 and LibreOffice Writer 3.34. The font rendering looks nicer with LibreOffice Writer.

Overall it looks like SMO doesn't use the font settings from Gnome (Font smoothing & Font family). What is the reason? BTW, is SMO a native Linux application or does it use Java?

Thanks very much for any clarification.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:07 am 
Offline
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:26 am
Posts: 5115
Location: Nuremberg
SoftMaker Office 2010, as a 32-bit application cannot inherit the colors and visuals from a 64-bit Linux system. On a 32-bit Linux, it can take the colors and visuals from Gnome and KDE.

_________________
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 9:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:02 pm
Posts: 3
Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I installed softmaker-office-2010-trial_amd64.deb. It is 64 or 32 bits? If SMO Linux 2010 cannot inherit the visual theme from Linux 64 bits, then how can it display Windows / Menu?

When SMO 2012 Linux will be available, would it be natively compatible with Linux 64 bits? I have no issue purchasing a native Office Suite. But it has to be decent, and visual is part of it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:45 am 
Offline
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:26 am
Posts: 5115
Location: Nuremberg
PolarBear wrote:
Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I installed softmaker-office-2010-trial_amd64.deb.


This is a 64bit install archive but the Office itself is still a 32bit software. Currently we cannot say if there will be an native 64bit version of Office 2012. This is on our agenda for future versions.

_________________
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group