text to column feature

Post bug reports and suggestions for PlanMaker 2008 for Windows.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

jagsrao
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 7:51 am

text to column feature

Postby jagsrao » Thu May 14, 2009 9:53 am

Hi,

Is there any feature in Planmaker like the "Text to column" feature that is available in MS Excel ?

Thanks

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 6018
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: text to column feature

Postby sven-l » Thu May 14, 2009 10:23 am

Hello,

currently that feature does not exist in PlanMaker but its already on our wishlist for upcoming versions.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

quilp
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 9:38 am

Re: text to column feature

Postby quilp » Thu Sep 19, 2013 8:48 am

sven-l wrote:Hello,

currently that feature does not exist in PlanMaker but its already on our wishlist for upcoming versions.


I can't find it in Free Office 12 - is it in the commercial version?

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 6018
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: text to column feature

Postby sven-l » Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:14 am

According to the help of the manual of the paid version:

The Table > Text to Columns command allows you to distribute text entered in one table cell into multiple columns. For example, if a cell contains a sentence, this command will move each single word into its own column.

You apply this command as follows:

1. Navigate to the cell containing the text to be distributed.

(If you want to distribute the text in multiple cells at once, select those cells.)

2. Invoke the Table > Text to Columns menu command.

3. A dialog box with several options is displayed (see below).

Normally, PlanMaker determines appropriate settings for this dialog automatically, so you don’t have to care about it.

4. Click OK to confirm.

The text in the cell is distributed into multiple cells in the adjacent columns.

Edit: I see that this feature is only available in the commercial version.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

quilp
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 9:38 am

Re: text to column feature

Postby quilp » Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:45 pm

Edit: I see that this feature is only available in the commercial version.[/quote]

Does this mean that when you, or any other forum user, posts advice it is done so on the assumption that the person asking the question is using the paid version of PlanMaker? If this is so it explains why I have been unable to implement some procedures suggested in replies to some of my questions.

In this particular case, when you say "I see that this feature is only available in the commercial version", are you saying only that the toolbar button is not available or are you also advising that the formula TEXT(A,A) can't be used in the free version even when inputted manually?

If it is the case that you, and other posters, assume that the questioner is using the commercial version, may I suggest that all forum users prefix their replies "Not available to free version users" where this is applicable? Not only will this benefit free version users but it may increase your sales of the commercial version!

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2341
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: text to column feature

Postby martin-k » Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:53 pm

We have a subforum for commercial SoftMaker Office and one for FreeOffice here. Posting in the correct forum makes it unnecessary to tag your replies.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH


Return to “PlanMaker 2008 for Windows”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest