LOOKUP() formula has a bug?

Post bug reports and suggestions for PlanMaker 2008 for Windows.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Vikingdread
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:13 pm

LOOKUP() formula has a bug?

Postby Vikingdread » Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:20 pm

I am using the LOOKUP() formula to lookup values from column B in column A and for some reason some values are not found even though both columns contain those values.

Is there a known bug in the LOOKUP() formula that causes this or am I doing something foolishly wrong?
(by the way: I have the same problem with VLOOKUP())

Please see my screenshot for further clarification:
Image

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 5873
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 7:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: LOOKUP() formula has a bug?

Postby sven-l » Thu Jan 08, 2009 9:46 am

Hello,

LOOKUP() requires the search area to be sorted in the internal sort order. Your column is not sorted, so the llookup algorithm does not return the correct result. Same happens in Excel, see the attached screenshot.

Use Table/Sort to sort the first column in the correct order.
Attachments
bild2.JPG
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Vikingdread
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:13 pm

Re: LOOKUP() formula has a bug?

Postby Vikingdread » Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:16 am

Thanks for the quick help Sven! I sorted the A column and now it's working fine! 8)

In my screenshot the A Column was also sorted, but in a different way.


Return to “PlanMaker 2008 for Windows”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest