Drop Cap not working correctly

This beta forum will be closed soon. Please post in the regular forum for TextMaker 2016 for Windows.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
Alan Hope
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 21, 2015 6:46 pm

Drop Cap not working correctly

Post by Alan Hope » Thu May 21, 2015 6:56 pm

Love the epub output, fast loading, etc but a quick test of some of the features revealed some work to be done and makes me nervous re a purchase.

For example ...
The "Drop cap" function simply adds a big letter in-line with the text resulting in an ugly gap between line one and line 2.
To work correctly, the text should wrap around the drop-cap.
Microsoft Word does it well if you want to see how it should be done - or look at drop caps in books and copy the way it appears in print.

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Drop Cap not working correctly

Post by Jim-J » Fri May 22, 2015 9:48 am

Hello,

Can you send us a sample file? So we can check on this easier.

Thank you.
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Jossi
Posts: 868
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: Luebeck, Germany

Re: Drop Cap not working correctly

Post by Jossi » Fri May 22, 2015 12:05 pm

Alan Hope wrote:The "Drop cap" function simply adds a big letter in-line with the text resulting in an ugly gap between line one and line 2.
To work correctly, the text should wrap around the drop-cap.
Microsoft Word does it well if you want to see how it should be done - or look at drop caps in books and copy the way it appears in print.
Alan, are you talking about this effect?
Drop Caps TM wrong.png
This happens when the size of the drop cap is too large; it can be avoided by adjusting the size. The automatic function of MS Word doesn't produce such effects; on the other hand, TextMaker gives the user many more options than Word for fine adjustment of drop caps, even if this needs a bit of manual tweaking.

Jossi
Posts: 868
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: Luebeck, Germany

Re: Drop Cap not working correctly

Post by Jossi » Fri May 22, 2015 12:08 pm

Attention SoftMaker: While checking Alan's issue I have noticed another issue with drop caps. The initial letter is positioned too low.
Please compare the output of MS Word 2003:
Drop Caps MS Word 2003.png
with the output of TM 2016:
Drop Caps TM.png
Unfortunately, this cannot even be corrected by defining an offset via Format > Character... > Superscript. When using superscript, the position of the letter moves upwards, but it goes farther down than before so the next line is ousted:
Drop Caps Superscript.png

Jossi
Posts: 868
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: Luebeck, Germany

Re: Drop Cap not working correctly

Post by Jossi » Fri May 22, 2015 12:22 pm

Just as an afterthought: The most sophisticated and typographically refined way would be to insert the initial letter as an image:
Drop caps graphic.png
But I admit this already verges on folly...
Last edited by Jossi on Fri May 22, 2015 4:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jim-J
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 437
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:29 am

Re: Drop Cap not working correctly

Post by Jim-J » Fri May 22, 2015 2:59 pm

I will refer the request to the developers.

Thanks
Jim J.
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Post Reply

Return to “Beta: TextMaker 2016 for Windows”