Installed Freeoffice in Arch Linux OK - But It Won't Run

Post here those questions, bug reports and suggestions for SoftMaker FreeOffice 2012 for Linux that do not fit in any of the application-specific subforums.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
ArchiMark
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 5:33 pm

Installed Freeoffice in Arch Linux OK - But It Won't Run

Post by ArchiMark » Mon May 06, 2013 5:43 pm

Hope someone can please advise...

I downloaded the Freeoffice.tgz file and installed it.

In my directory, I can now see planmakerfree, textmakerfree, and presentationsfree listed.

However, when I click on one of the programs, it does not open and run.

When I try to run program from terminal, I get message: 'cannot execute binary file'

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7477
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Installed Freeoffice in Arch Linux OK - But It Won't Run

Post by sven-l » Wed May 08, 2013 9:39 am

Does an uninstallation and a new installation via the Shell solve the problem?

Please use the following commands in the shell to install/uninstall SoftMaker Office on your machine (please replace the names of the files and installations with the correct ones):

TGZ:
install: tar xzf softmaker-office.tgz
uninstall: our script (uninstallsmoffice)

RPM:
install: rpm -ivh softmaker-office.rpm
uninstall: rpm -e softmaker-office
list all installed packages: rpm -qa
list all installed Softmaker Office packages: rpm -qa | grep softmaker

DEB:
install: dpkg -i softmaker-office.deb
uninstall: dpkg -r softmaker-office
list all installed packages: dpkg --get-selections
list all installed Softmaker Office packages: dpkg --get-selections | grep softmaker
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Kuno
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Osnabrück / Germany

Re: Installed Freeoffice in Arch Linux OK - But It Won't Run

Post by Kuno » Wed May 08, 2013 1:04 pm

sven-l wrote:Does an uninstallation and a new installation via the Shell solve the problem?

Please use the following commands in the shell to install/uninstall SoftMaker Office on your machine (please replace the names of the files and installations with the correct ones):

TGZ:
install: tar xzf softmaker-office.tgz
uninstall: our script (uninstallsmoffice)
Since rpm and deb won't work in arch - maybe the 32bit-libs are missing ??? I have an archbang-install at home parallel to my default crunchbang and seem to remember, freeoffice does not work there either... Will have a look later today...

EDIT: So i took a look: tgz installed under arch64-bit. Trying to start the textmaker(free)-script from terminal gives the following complaint:
line 3: /home/user/freeoffice/textmaker: File or folder not found.
Added the path to the executable to /etc/profile , but that did not help... :?:

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7477
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Installed Freeoffice in Arch Linux OK - But It Won't Run

Post by sven-l » Fri May 10, 2013 9:01 am

I asked the developers for help and will answer here as soon as I have more information.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7477
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Installed Freeoffice in Arch Linux OK - But It Won't Run

Post by sven-l » Fri May 10, 2013 10:31 am

If you have a 64bit system and don't use the 64bit .deb or .rpm archives, you have to install some 32bit compatibility libraries manually before installing our office.
The names of these libraries depend on the distribution. Just google it.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Post Reply

Return to “SoftMaker FreeOffice 2012 for Linux (General)”