help with formula?

Post bug reports and suggestions for PlanMaker 2010 for Linux.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
engine
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:29 am
Location: Belgium

help with formula?

Post by engine » Wed May 11, 2011 4:34 pm

I use Planmaker extensively for preparing tagged text that I then import into FrameMaker: minimal effort, handsome documents … I was just wondering, can I write a formula to say "if cell n is empty, write 'empty' here, otherwise write 'full'". In fact, I thought I'd already managed it once; but can't find the spreadsheet where it worked :-{
Thanks in advance if you can help me on this one!
Niels Grundtvig Nielsen
You know what you're talking about ‒ I can help you say it
http://www.kbss27.be

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7351
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: help with formula?

Post by sven-l » Thu May 12, 2011 9:42 am

An if-then-else condition should help you out here. According to the manual:

Syntax:

IF(Condition, IfTrue [, IfFalse])

Description:

Returns IfTrue, if the specified condition is TRUE, else returns IfFalse (if given).

Condition can be any kind of value or expression that returns TRUE or FALSE.

IfTrue and IfFalse can be any kind of value or expression (including formulas).

Example:

IF(A1<5, "Order!", "ok") returns "Order!" if A1<5, otherwise it returns "ok".
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

engine
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:29 am
Location: Belgium

Re: help with formula?

Post by engine » Thu May 12, 2011 10:49 am

Thanks, Sven; I hoped I was thinking in the right direction. Next step: how do I define the condition "if A5 is empty"?
Niels Grundtvig Nielsen
You know what you're talking about ‒ I can help you say it
http://www.kbss27.be

Jossi
Posts: 878
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:47 pm
Location: Luebeck, Germany

Re: help with formula?

Post by Jossi » Thu May 12, 2011 5:29 pm

It is:

=IF(A5="";"empty";"full")

engine
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:29 am
Location: Belgium

Re: help with formula?

Post by engine » Fri May 13, 2011 11:16 am

Could be a keyboard settings question? the tip in the Insert Function window uses commas instead of semi-colons … anyway, I've now managed to do what I hoped to; thanks!
Niels Grundtvig Nielsen
You know what you're talking about ‒ I can help you say it
http://www.kbss27.be

Post Reply

Return to “PlanMaker 2010 for Linux”