adding fonts

Post bug reports and suggestions for TextMaker 2010 for Linux.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:47 am

I have some msttcorefonts that appear in /usr/share/fonts/truetype/msttcorefonts
I can as root copy them to /usr/share/office2010

However, they still don't show up in Textmaker, not even if I add the path to Options/System. Must I perform some action like changing ownership or indexing?
http://www.aboutlinux.info/2005/12/addi ... linux.html

Thanks,
Thomas

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7367
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by sven-l » Fri Jul 12, 2013 9:54 am

Are you using TextMaker 2010 or 2012?
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

Re: adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Fri Jul 12, 2013 9:59 am

I am using Textmaker 2010 under Ubuntu 12.04 LTS.

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7367
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by sven-l » Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:38 am

In TextMaker 2012 for Linux you can enter an additional font path. I am not 100% sure but it could also work with TextMaker 2010. It should be in Tools=>Options=>System.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

Re: adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:57 am

I tried that; see below - to no avail. What else?

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7367
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by sven-l » Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:17 am

So you inserted /usr/share/fonts/truetype/msttcorefonts as font path, the fonts are in this folder and they still do not show up in the font drop down in TextMaker 2010?
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

Re: adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:40 am

That's right. /usr/share/fonts/truetype/msttcorefonts
works neither with nor without a trailing slash

root@Haussestrasse:/usr/share/fonts/truetype/msttcorefonts# ls
Andale_Mono.ttf Georgia.ttf
andalemo.ttf georgiaz.ttf
arialbd.ttf impact.ttf
arialbi.ttf Impact.ttf
Arial_Black.ttf timesbd.ttf
Arial_Bold_Italic.ttf timesbi.ttf
Arial_Bold.ttf timesi.ttf
Arial_Italic.ttf Times_New_Roman_Bold_Italic.ttf
ariali.ttf Times_New_Roman_Bold.ttf
arial.ttf Times_New_Roman_Italic.ttf
Arial.ttf Times_New_Roman.ttf

.....
These fonts above do not appear in Textmaker 2010's drop-down menu. Only SFs are there as before.

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7367
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by sven-l » Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:16 am

could you please start TextMaker via the shell with parameter -debug4 (textmaker12 -debug4)? This should create a file tmlog.txt in /home/USER/.softmaker, that shows where TextMaker is looking for fonts when it starts. It could help to solve the problem. Please attach the file here so we can have a look at it. Thank you!
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

Re: adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:41 am

Sven,

Thanks. However, I was unable to use your command textmaker12: command not found

textmaker -debug4
worked.

Please find the output attached below.

Thomas
Attachments
tmlog.txt
(39.66 KiB) Downloaded 132 times

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

Re: adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Fri Jul 19, 2013 8:49 am

Sven,

Shall I assume you have sent the question to your developers, and we are to wait for their opinion?

Thomas

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7367
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by sven-l » Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:00 am

ruddyconsult wrote:Sven,

Thanks. However, I was unable to use your command textmaker12: command not found
That's correct. If you work with TextMaker 2010 you can use textmaker, not textmaker12 (which is for TextMaker 2012).
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7367
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by sven-l » Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:09 am

I asked the developers for help and will inform you as soon as I have more information.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7367
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by sven-l » Fri Jul 19, 2013 11:06 am

The developers ask if none of these fonts show up in your font list or only some of them.

Almost all of your fonts seems to be duplicated. For example you have an Arial.ttf and an arial.ttf or an Impact.ttf and impact.ttf.

According to the log, TextMaker sees these fonts, but we don't know which exactly are shown.

What you can try:
1. You can try to strip down the number of fonts (e.g. remove all Arial*.ttf) and see if TextMaker shows Arial afterwards. In this case you would simply have to remove all duplicates.
2. You can try to send us the list of fonts that are shown (or screenshots) so that we at least can try to see which fonts are missing.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

Re: adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Fri Jul 19, 2013 3:41 pm

Sven,

> none of these fonts show up in your font list

Right. As I told you on 12th July, "These fonts above do not appear in Textmaker 2010's drop-down menu. Only SFs are there as before". For instance, I only see one Times Roman, and it is not the TTF.


> Almost all of your fonts seems to be duplicated

That is a false impression. The "duplicates" are the result of my duplicated efforts to remedy this situation. Only SF fonts show up in my drop-down font list.

Thomas

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2871
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by martin-k » Fri Jul 19, 2013 3:43 pm

"SF" is an icon for "scalable font". This has nothing to do with which fonts are displayed in your font list.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Post Reply

Return to “TextMaker 2010 for Linux”