adding fonts

Post bug reports and suggestions for TextMaker 2010 for Linux.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

Re: adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:14 pm

OK, thanks for deciphering the abbreviation.

Nonetheless the fact remains that I only see one Times New Roman font in the drop-down list, whereas there are three in my fonts folder. I "duplicated" the 4 files in my fonts folder for Times New Roman and Ariel from the /usr/share/fonts/truetype/msttcorefonts

And still I only see two Ariels, whereas there are three Ariels that were copied.

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by martin-k » Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:35 pm

But that's in fact not a bug. TextMaker builds a family from the basic weights regular, italic, and bold italic, and only makes a separate entry for other weights (such as light or black).

For example, Arial should appear as Arial and Arial Black in the font menu.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

Re: adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:49 pm

Martin,

I hope you are right, and I don't understand the grouping of weights.

My dropdown menu shows:
Ariel
Ariel Black


But what happened to the other files in the fonts folder
Ariel Bold
Ariel Bold Italic?

Thomas

martin-k
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 2894
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 4:57 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: adding fonts

Post by martin-k » Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:51 pm

Select Arial, then press the B button to get the bold, the I button to get the italic, or both to get bold italic.
Martin Kotulla
SoftMaker Software GmbH

ruddyconsult
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 8:40 am

Re: adding fonts

Post by ruddyconsult » Fri Jul 19, 2013 4:57 pm

Martin

Thanks, have a good weekend.

Thomas

Post Reply

Return to “TextMaker 2010 for Linux”