Motion path support?

Post bug reports and suggestions for SoftMaker Presentations 2010 for Windows.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
r-vanhove
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:15 am

Motion path support?

Post by r-vanhove » Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:02 pm

Hi,
Just tried Presentation 2010... looks awesome.
I had a Powerpoint presentation with motion paths for several objects, in Presentation 2010, it is possible to see the animation, but once the objects are moved to a certain point, at the end of the animation it goes back to the original position. In Powerpoint it doesn't happen, the objects stay there in their new position.

Is this is a bug in Presentation 2010 ?

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7252
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Motion path support?

Post by sven-l » Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:33 am

Hello,

I asked our developers but I don't think that it is already implemented in Presentations.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7252
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Motion path support?

Post by sven-l » Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:14 pm

1. Presentations 2010 should support motion paths like in PowerPoint 2007. A shape can move along a predefined curve. This already works, but there's no user interface for it. I attached a sample file.

2. Objects should keep the new position at the end of an animation but that's not reproducible for us (objects stay there). There's a checkbox 'reset effect' in the animation properties for that, but it's usually unchecked. Can you please send a sample file?
Attachments
motion.ppt
(103.5 KiB) Downloaded 269 times
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

r-vanhove
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:15 am

Re: Motion path support?

Post by r-vanhove » Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:38 pm

I see....
I'm using the beta version still of Presentations 2010, as I can't see this checkbox.
I suspect I need the commercial version of it?

r-vanhove
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:15 am

Re: Motion path support?

Post by r-vanhove » Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:27 pm

I have just bought Softmaker Office 2010 :-o .
I loaded my test case and objects are resetted back to their original positions after the motion path is completed. I can't find either the "Reset" checkmark in the Animation properties???
Look at my example. It works nicely in PPT, but in Presentations 2010, the objects are moved back to the original positions :(
Attachments
MyTest.ppt
(252.5 KiB) Downloaded 267 times

r-vanhove
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:15 am

Re: Motion path support?

Post by r-vanhove » Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:48 pm

I forgot to mention: my version is rev. 570

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7252
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Motion path support?

Post by sven-l » Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:54 am

Thank you for the example file. I've forwarded it to our developers to investigate that problem.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7252
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Motion path support?

Post by sven-l » Tue Dec 08, 2009 11:34 am

It seems that there is a problem with the DirectX support that causes the bug. Our developers will investigate that. A workaround is to disable DirectX support in Presentations (Tools=>Options=>System).
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

r-vanhove
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:15 am

Re: Motion path support?

Post by r-vanhove » Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:23 pm

I'm afraid disabling the DirectX support doesn't resolve it entirely, the objects in some of my slides are still moving to the original position, despite I disable the DirectX. In some other slides, the DirectX work-around works.

Anyway, I don't like to disable the DirectX, because it would render my DirectX slide translations useless. that was not the purpose of Presentations 2010 (="breathtaking animations" :shock: ).

I'll need to find another solution to those motion paths, until a DirectX fix is made?

Post Reply

Return to “SoftMaker Presentations 2010 for Windows”