Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Post bug reports and suggestions for TextMaker 2008 for Linux.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Arno Verhoeven
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:44 am

Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby Arno Verhoeven » Sat Nov 08, 2008 10:29 am

I have installed Office and everything seems ok, but everrrrrrry time I start TextMaker it tells me this is the first time I have started TextMaker as user... and that all files will be copied to...
How can I get rid of this dialogue.

BTW this is still the trial version
Best regards,

Arno Verhoeven

pbk
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 8:37 am

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby pbk » Sat Nov 08, 2008 10:37 am

Please check if there's the SoftMaker Folder in your home directory and if it's writeable. Try to rename that folder and run TextMaker again. It should then create an new Settings-File.

Arno Verhoeven
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:44 am

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby Arno Verhoeven » Sat Nov 08, 2008 2:05 pm

I did. A new Softmake dir is created but the problem is not solved. And....where should the settings file be? Can I edit it?
Best regards,



Arno Verhoeven

Arno Verhoeven
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:44 am

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby Arno Verhoeven » Sat Nov 08, 2008 2:21 pm

Update:

I have deleted all TM files in .Softmaker
Started TM closed it, started again and yes it is OK

Changed the Language to Dutch, closed it started it and.... damn prooblem is back again.

Seems to has somethiong to do with the DUtch settings!

PlanMaker has same problem, Presentations does NOT
Best regards,



Arno Verhoeven

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7051
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby sven-l » Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:33 am

Hello,

what Linux distribution do you use? Are you working with root or user permissions?
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

Arno Verhoeven
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:44 am

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby Arno Verhoeven » Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:42 am

Ubuntu 8.10

When I am working with a program I always have user permissions, like it should be!
Best regards,



Arno Verhoeven

Arno Verhoeven
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:44 am

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby Arno Verhoeven » Tue Nov 11, 2008 9:42 am

Btw. I run Ubuntu in English!
Best regards,



Arno Verhoeven

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7051
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby sven-l » Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:10 am

I referred your problem to our developers and will inform you here as soon as I have more information.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7051
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby sven-l » Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:05 pm

Our developers found out that it doesn't matter if you use the trial or the full version. As a workaround you can set the user interface back to English. We work on a solution for this and inform you here as soon as there are some news.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7051
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby sven-l » Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:20 pm

Hello,

the problem has been solved now and won't occur anymore in the next service pack.
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sinistra
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: Texas + New York

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby sinistra » Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:14 am

I received this dialogue everytime I started Textmaker or Planmaker rev 503 but the dialogue box always showed the correct path to the Sofmaker directory:

/home/sinistra/SoftMaker

The problem was SoftMaker couldn't find the /Templates directory located in the SoftMaker Directory:

./
../
Bullets/
Designs/
Samples/
Templates/
FAQ (English).tmd
FAQ_EN.rtf
Readme.tmd
World Languages.tmd
biblio.dbf
font on display.tmd
tmw.dbf
tmw.dvw

by telling SoftMaker where the Templates directory is in the pop up dialogue:

/home/sinistra/Templates

the problem goes away at least for the rest of the session, that is as long as the computer is on.

I have not confirmed if the modified dialogue box retains the new information after a reboot, I have not tried. If it didn't that would be the bug.

I use Debian Linux. with the 2.6.30-1-686 Kernel

sven-l
SoftMaker Team
SoftMaker Team
Posts: 7051
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:26 am
Location: Nuremberg
Contact:

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby sven-l » Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:18 am

sinistra wrote:the problem goes away at least for the rest of the session, that is as long as the computer is on.

I have not confirmed if the modified dialogue box retains the new information after a reboot, I have not tried. If it didn't that would be the bug.


Hello,

does the problem still exist after you confirmed that the changes retains the new information after a reboot?
Sven Leßmann
SoftMaker Software GmbH

sinistra
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: Texas + New York

Re: Starting TextMaker always a Frst time dialogue

Postby sinistra » Tue Jul 07, 2009 5:42 pm

No

After the above proceedure I'm pleased to report the pesky pop up dialogue window has not returned.

--
S


Return to “TextMaker 2008 for Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest