Before Installing Beta

Post bug reports and suggestions for the TextMaker 2008 for Pocket PCs beta software.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
kampion998
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:39 pm

Before Installing Beta

Post by kampion998 » Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:44 pm

I had an unfortunate incident when I installed the beta in late Feb, the beta effectively removed my registered TM. I had a backup but ended up having to hard-reset and wipe my PPC, then reinstalled 2006.

There are several things I want to test in the beta, but I;m reluctant to try again. Has this been addressed? Can 2008 co-exist with 06 during beta?

==================
Mio Mitec P550, mobile 6.0
Also using XP, Ubuntu & Puppy

amuehl
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:46 pm
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Before Installing Beta

Post by amuehl » Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:21 pm

kampion998 wrote:I had an unfortunate incident when I installed the beta in late Feb, the beta effectively removed my registered TM. I had a backup but ended up having to hard-reset and wipe my PPC, then reinstalled 2006.

There are several things I want to test in the beta, but I;m reluctant to try again. Has this been addressed? Can 2008 co-exist with 06 during beta?
SoftMaker Office 2008 and 2006 can be installed on the same device (assumed that you are using different folders for the installation). The beta version does not remove your 2006 full version.
Alexander Mühl
SoftMaker Software GmbH

schild
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: Before Installing Beta

Post by schild » Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:40 pm

I can not use both TM2006 and TM2008 on my device. When I make as change to the normal.tmv in TM2008 it also changes it in TM2006. TM2006 can't readit so it can not open with a new document. I installed 2006 in \storage card\Program Files\Softmake Office 2006\ and 2008 in \storage card\Program Files\Softmake Office 2008\.

kampion998
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 10:39 pm

Re: Before Installing Beta

Post by kampion998 » Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:47 am

I can't lose 2006, as I need it for work. But there are some problems I'l like to test, one being:

"Hi," she said. Is changes to Hi," She said. This is a serious problem, unless I turn off auto-caps. Unfortunately, shifting to uppercase is annoying on a tiny PPC.

Maybe someone has already addressed this.

schild
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: Before Installing Beta

Post by schild » Mon Mar 10, 2008 8:03 pm

I just tried "Hi," she said in TextMaker2008 and it did not change the S to a cap. I used all the default settings.

amuehl
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:46 pm
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Before Installing Beta

Post by amuehl » Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:39 am

schild wrote:I can not use both TM2006 and TM2008 on my device. When I make as change to the normal.tmv in TM2008 it also changes it in TM2006. TM2006 can't readit so it can not open with a new document. I installed 2006 in \storage card\Program Files\Softmake Office 2006\ and 2008 in \storage card\Program Files\Softmake Office 2008\.
Files saved in TM 2008 file format cannot be read by older versions (like TextMaker 2006), but you will have the choice to save them in the older TextMaker 2006 format (Save as => File Type).

You can avoid problems with your templates the following way:

Your templates are stored in \My Documents\SoftMaker\Templates. Make a copy of this template folder, rename it (for example Templates_2006) and define in TextMaker 2006, where to find this new folder (Extras => Preferences => Files => Template Folder => \My Documents\SoftMaker\Templates_2006 -- in this case). Now you have separate templates folder for TextMaker 2006 and TextMaker 2008.
Alexander Mühl
SoftMaker Software GmbH

amuehl
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:46 pm
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Before Installing Beta

Post by amuehl » Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:07 am

kampion998 wrote:I can't lose 2006, as I need it for work. But there are some problems I'l like to test, one being:

"Hi," she said. Is changes to Hi," She said. This is a serious problem, unless I turn off auto-caps. Unfortunately, shifting to uppercase is annoying on a tiny PPC.

Maybe someone has already addressed this.
I'm sorry, but this issue is not reproduceable for me. Not with a Pocket PC, nor under Windows XP.
Alexander Mühl
SoftMaker Software GmbH

schild
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: Before Installing Beta

Post by schild » Tue Mar 11, 2008 1:29 pm

Your tip on using TM2006 and TM2008 on the same device does not work. I installed TM2006 and renamed the temaplte folder to Templates2006 and changed the templates folder in the Extras. I installed TM2008 and it reads the TM2006 templates settings. the TM2008 templates folder is set to Templates2006. So in TM2008 if I changes the EXTAS setting to TEMPLATES it still chnages in in TM2006.

Post Reply

Return to “TextMaker 2008 for Pocket PCs BETA”