installation

Post bug reports and suggestions for the TextMaker 2008 for Pocket PCs beta software.

Moderator: SoftMaker Team

Post Reply
dfinnan
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:40 pm

installation

Post by dfinnan » Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:45 pm

I downloaded the Beta Pocket PC Softmaker. I've tried installing it on my CF card (2 GB). It is virtually empty but it says it runs out of space, almost instantly. I know this can't be true. How can I overcome this? I use an AXIM x51v and Windows XP on my computer?

Can't even get started!

DrAT
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 11:37 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK

Re: installation

Post by DrAT » Thu Feb 28, 2008 8:38 pm

I think it's likely that you're short of system memory and there's plenty of space on your card. Once installed, you should be fine. I'm using an iPAQ hx4700 with little trouble.
I'd free up as much system memory as possible. Disable any Today plugins and move what you can to CF temporarily.
Perform a soft reset before installing to make room for the setup and give the installer as much space as possible to run.
Once TM is installed and running, put everything back. It's worth the hassle.
There will always be a problem running feature-rich software on a device with little memory, but the few problems I have are outweighed by the usefulness of the program.
Last edited by DrAT on Mon Mar 03, 2008 7:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
WM2003SE - HP iPAQ hx4700 - 64Mb RAM

WM5 - XDA Mini S

WM6 - HP iPAQ 214 - 128Mb RAM

WM6.5 - HTC HD2 - 448Mb RAM

StowAway BT Keyboard

dfinnan
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 3:40 pm

Re: installation

Post by dfinnan » Thu Feb 28, 2008 9:21 pm

Thank you, thank you! I did what you suggested and it installed perfectly. I'm ready to try out this great software on my PDA. Have a wonderful day! Dennis

DrAT
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 11:37 pm
Location: West Midlands, UK

Re: installation

Post by DrAT » Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:02 pm

It is rather good isn't it, even though it's still beta.
The Axim came with WM2003 and WM5 if I remember. I started a thread here http://www.softmaker.com/forum/viewtopi ... =35&t=2315 that lists a few ways to save memory on WM2003 devices. It's worth checking out, I think.
I've just bough an PAQ 214. The 128Mb RAM is a joy... until that's not enough anyway.
Take care,
Andy.
WM2003SE - HP iPAQ hx4700 - 64Mb RAM

WM5 - XDA Mini S

WM6 - HP iPAQ 214 - 128Mb RAM

WM6.5 - HTC HD2 - 448Mb RAM

StowAway BT Keyboard

hops
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:09 pm

Re: installation

Post by hops » Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:44 pm

i had same trouble with install on my ppc. can you make the install add the samples, bullets and other graphic images install to the sd/cf card also instead of main memory please????

amuehl
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:46 pm
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: installation

Post by amuehl » Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:26 am

hops wrote:i had same trouble with install on my ppc. can you make the install add the samples, bullets and other graphic images install to the sd/cf card also instead of main memory please????
This is already on our feature list.
Alexander Mühl
SoftMaker Software GmbH

zoletnik
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:07 pm

Re: installation

Post by zoletnik » Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:21 pm

I have installed SoftMaker 2008 beta for Pocket PC on my HTC Artemis. Although I specified the storage card for installation
it took up about 7 Mbytes from the PPC's storage in My Documents\SoftMaker. Unfortunately this PPC has got only 38 Mbytes of memory and this way I am running out of memory. Is it possible to move the above directory to the storage card?

Tobias-L
Posts: 3423
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 3:23 pm
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: installation

Post by Tobias-L » Tue Mar 18, 2008 10:47 am

You need not to delete the My Documents\SoftMaker\Settings folder, as it is required by our software. Additionally, the Templates, when needed, should not be deleted, too.
Tobias Leißner
SoftMaker Software GmbH


harutopia
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 11:45 am

Re: installation

Post by harutopia » Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:54 am

I managed to move the Template from my main memory to my storage card and my TM and PM are still perfectly working.

--- My Documents\SoftMaker\ to Storage Card\SoftMaker2006\Template

Whenever you need the templates, TM and PM will directly open the Template in its new location.

Post Reply

Return to “TextMaker 2008 for Pocket PCs BETA”